Quit It

Well, well, well.

Look who’s back.

I’m talking about me, not you.

I took  a little hiatus.

I let myself get totally caught up in the whirlwind of the holidays, family get togethers, and weekends filled with everything and nothing.

It was glorious.

I thought seriously about quitting the blog.

Except I hate quitting.

The nice thing about a hiatus, though,  is that it gives you the space to put things into perspective.

So I took a few months to put my life into perspective.

I realized that quitting doesn’t always that mean you are giving up.

Sometimes it means you are changing your course.

Sometimes it means stopping the things that aren’t good for you.

Sometimes it means setting something aside so you can focus on more important things.

I don’t want to quit the blog.

But sometimes other things are more important.

So I’m quitting.

Not the blog, silly.

I’ve still got shit to say.

But I’m quitting adhering to ridiculous self-imposed routines.

I’m quitting worrying about how other people will react.

I’m quitting doing things that drain me.

And my job.

I totally quit my job.

It drained me in a way that rendered me totally ineffective as a human being.

So now that I’ve rested and some of my human-ness is beginning to return, I have the mental capacity to string words into sentences and press a button on a camera.

Except now I’ll only do it when the inspiration strikes and not when I’m trying to adhere to a self imposed quota of blog posts.

Didn’t know I did that, did you?

I’ll tuck the rest of my oddities away for another day.

For now, we’ll return to the food.

I was watching a completely obnoxious cooking show about “How to live to 100” that was both irritating and engaging at the same time.

In other words, I loved it.

And I loved the idea of “Cheesy Cauliflower Popcorn” that showed up at the end of the episode.

Could it be true?
Could a vegetable really taste like crunchy, buttery popcorn?

The answer is no.

No it can’t.

There was nothing poppy or corny about it.

But it was pretty tasty.

And making cauliflower tasty is a feat in and of itself.

So I consider this a success.

That, and the fact that it makes eating an entire head of cauliflower feasible.

Not advisable, but feasible.

Roasted Curry Cauliflower

DSCN4977

1 head cauliflower

1 tablespoon canola oil

1 teaspoon curry powder

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

pinch salt

Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees.

Cut leaves and stem from cauliflower.

DSCN4954

Using hands, break cauliflower into small bite-sized pieces.

DSCN4956

In a large bowl, mix cauliflower, canola oil, curry powder, garlic powder, and salt.

DSCN4962

Mix until each piece is well coated.

DSCN4964

Place on foil lined baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes, stirring half way through the cooking time.

DSCN5012

Put on a movie and enjoy a big bowl of……..cauliflower.

Leave a Reply

