Cool as a Cucumber

Fooooooooooooooooooood.

DSCN3606

It’s been too long.

I miss seeing you at regular intervals.

I also miss 90% of the pictures that I somehow lost while transferring the blog.

Don’t look.

Seriously.

Just stay here.

Also, a few weeks ago I was all set to rejoin the geekery that is taking pictures of my own food when my camera went all wonky.

The buttons stopped working and it wouldn’t turn on or off.

DSCN3616

YES!

THIS WAS IT!

This was my opportunity to purchase a fancy pants new camera!

I almost had my husband convinced to let me buy a $700 new Canon and the $400 lens that would surely need to accompany it when he came over and started toying with the broken one.

A few minutes later he returned it to me in perfect working order.

“What did you do?”

“I changed the batteries.” 

Oh.

Well then.

Next time I’ll make sure to drop it from the top of the refrigerator.

So, um, here’s some pictures of food.

From my crusty old camera.

DSCN3681

CUCUMBER HUMMUS

2 (15 oz cans) garbanzo beans (chickpeas), drained

1 medium cucumber, peeled and diced

2 garlic cloves, chopped

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 lemon, juiced

1/2 teaspoon pepper

salt, to taste

Add all ingredients to a high speed blender of food processor.

DSCN3629

DSCN3634

DSCN3645

Process until smooth.

DSCN3649

Garnish with diced cucumber and olives, if desired

DSCN3650

Eat it with some crusty pita bread next to your crusty camera.

DSCN3660

Enjoy your Memorial Day-

Or as I like to think of it

“Hug the crap out of some soldiers and keep the fallen in your hearts”

Day.

Leave a Reply

