Family Heirlooms

My approach to gardening is very haphazard.

I basically buy a bunch of seeds, throw them in the ground and hope for the best.

That was before I received some sage advice from a garden guru.

My father in law sent me some heirloom variety tomato seeds complete with instructions since last year I basically hired a bunch of gnomes to do all the heavy lifting.

This year I hired my husband who will be paid in peanut butter cookies.

When I methodically opened the seed packets from FIL, taking care to pull the tape gently back like those annoying gift recipients that want to “save the paper,” I was greeted with just three small seeds.

The instructions indicated that these seeds are part of a family of tomatoes from Virginia that are over 100 years old.

Heirloom varieties differ from regular seeds in that the heirlooms have been selected from only the best producing fruit.

That means only seeds from the juiciest, plumpest, and best tasting tomatoes make the cut.

They are also often a mixture of vibrant oranges, reds, and greens.

They do not have the perfectly round (and perfectly boring) shape of traditional commercial tomatoes.

They are unique.

And they are wonderful.

The heirloom seeds that were passed down to me included Black Cherry Tomatoes and German Green Tomatoes.

My mouth was salivating in FIL’s description of the German Green tomatoes that, as the name indicates, never turn red.

And can grow to a pound in size.

Recipe ideas are already swirling through my brain.

But before I can cook with them, I need to get cooking on planting them.

Since the nights are still brisk and the ground is still cold, I’m starting the seeds indoors where they can bask in the sunshine behind the protection of sliding glass doors.

I made my life easier by using a seed starting kit.

The kit comes with 25 individual cells that I am using to start my tomato and pepper plants.

This thing is easier than a chia pet.

Everything is contained in one tray that includes a self watering system for minimal maintenance.

Start by soaking the matting and placing it in the tray provided.

Add 5 cups of warm water to the “cells” which then grow and double in volume.

Press your seeds into the cells and cover with a small amount of the soil.

Cover the tray with the plastic lid provided and place the tray in a warm area that gets lots of sunshine.

That’s it.

You’re done.

In a month, I’ll move the tray outside for about a week before transferring them to the garden.

Which is complete with raised beds this year, courtesy of my favorite firefighter.

errrrrr…..I mean this one.

Hon, I don’t think that M-16 is the most practical way to put a fire out. I heard water is usually sufficient.

I feel blessed to be in possession of this very special family heirloom.

(The seeds and the husband)

And even more blessed to have such a special father in law as part of my family.

The gnomes are questionable at this point.

KEEP CALM AND GET YOUR GARDEN ON!

2 thoughts on “Family Heirlooms

  1. You are thankful now, but once every spare space on your window sills, sounters and even the toilet tank is filled with tomatoes, you might be sursing your father-in-law. Just kidding, but beware, they grow like crazy and fast. You’ll be canning in the fall, lol.

  2. ok, I can not spell today. You will be cursing your father-in-law and the tomatoes will be on the counter. What can I say, old fingers or long nails.umph……

Leave a Reply

