Lucky Charms

Top O’ The Morning To You!

St. Patrick’s Day is a rather unfortunate holiday for me.

I’m short, small, and my ears are slightly pointed.

And it doesn’t help when I show up to 5k races looking like this.

It must have been my lucky day.

Thirteen is definitely my new lucky number.

Please note that I beat a nine year old by two seconds.

But if I wasn’t trying to beat that little leprechaun, I never would have FINALLY met my goal of running a sub 25 minute 5k.

24:58

To be exact.

I also won the contest for wearing the most green.

I credit that one to Irish blessings from heaven.

And the hat from heaven’s favorite Irishman.

My race day lucky charm.

Thanks Grandpa McFetridge.

For being my spirit and making me sprite.

Speaking of spirits, how about having some with breakfast?

Not the ghostly kind.

The whiskey kind.

IRISH WHISKEY WAFFLES

2 cups white whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups non-dairy milk

3 tablespoons Irish Whiskey

2 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoon canola oil

Pre-heat waffle iron.

Whisk together white whole wheat flour, baking powder, and salt.

Tidbit: Just in case you’re not a regular around here, remember to use white whole wheat flour and not regular whole wheat flour. I am not in the mood to get the shamrock beat out of me because your waffles turned out like blarney stones.

Pour in non-dairy milk, whiskey, honey, and canola oil.

Mix just until combined.

Pour batter into hot waffle iron.

Cook according to manufacturer’s directions.

*Mine took about six minutes.

Serve with fresh fruit, a drizzle of honey, and a shot of whiskey.

In your coffee.

It’s breakfast, for pete’s sake.

You’re not an animal.

You’re Irish.

Just like me and everyone else in America!

This little leprechaun is wasted.

HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY!

Leave a Reply

