Chasing Tail

Crunch.

Crunch.

Crunch.

That’s what I heard when I went outside to check on my dog after she didn’t come when I called her.

Crunch.

Crunch.

Crunch.

 Oh, great.

She got into the compost and now she’ll be sick tonight.

So I thought.

I should have known better.

I should have known she wouldn’t be crunching on apple cores.

Apple cores don’t make a loud, snapping sounds like, like……………… chicken bones.

Or in this case, squirrel bones.

I should have known.

I also should have known not to reach into her mouth in the pitch black hours before bedtime expecting to pull out rotten fruit.

No.

First came the tail.

Fur and all.

Then came what I can only imagine to be, um, connective tissue.

Attached to a live organ.

Just one.

Just a tail and one fledging, tiny little animal organ.

The rest of some poor critter was  on its way down my dog’s digestive system.

It was all I could do to hold down my own dinner.

I managed to get everything cleaned up and thought the worst was over.

Until I poured myself a bowl of cereal the next morning.

Crunch, crunch, crunch.

The previous night’s incident flashed through my brain.

The next sounds that came out of my mouth are not really appropriate for the public forum.

Nice imagery for a food blog, eh?

Now you know how I felt while I tried to choke down a bowl of crispy, crunchy cereal.

I wanted no part of it.

Every crunch was like a stabbing reminder of the carnage that took place in my back yard.

I needed something soft.

Oatmeal!

In cookie form.

Breakfast cookie form.

A chewy breakfast cookie made with oats, banana, peanut butter and maple syrup for sweetness. These are really good for breakfasts on the go or a quick snack throughout the day. Even though its called a breakfast “cookie” its more about the shape than the actual flavor. These are more like a slightly sweet oatmeal muffin-in cookie form.

PEANUT BUTTER BANANA BREAKFAST COOKIES

(Makes about 6 large cookies)

1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

1 teaspoon ground flax

1/4 teaspoon salt

pinch baking soda

(scant 1/8 tsp)

1 large, ripe banana

3 tablespoons maple syrup

2 tablespoons peanut butter

2 tablespoons non-dairy milk

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium sized bowl, combine oats, flax seed, salt, and baking soda and mix thoroughly.

TIDBIT: For a chewier cookie with more flavor, you can toast the oats for about 12 minutes before proceeding with the recipe.

In a small bowl, mash the banana.

Mix in the maple syrup, peanut butter, and non-dairy milk.

Add the banana mixture to the oats and stir just until combined.

Scoop about 1/4 cup of the mixture onto a baking sheet.

Bake for 12-14 minutes or until bottoms are browned and cookies are set.

Tidbits:

This recipe is super versatile.

*You can leave out the ground flax if you don’t have any on hand. They act as a binder and add healthy omega 3’s but aren’t crucial to the recipe.

*For a sugar free version, you can omit the maple syrup and add an extra mashed banana. It will be slightly less sweet and more dense but uber nutritious.

*Toast the oats for 12-14 minutes for a chewier more flavorful cookie.

*Add more peanut butter (or any nut butter) for extra protein and healthy fat. Increase non-dairy milk if needed.

 

 

HAPPY CRUNCHING  CHEWING!

Leave a Reply

