TANgent

My friend asked me how I stayed so tan.

“Do you go to the tanner?”

“No.”

“Oh.”

“I eat a lot of orange food.”

People always laugh when I say this.

But its the only explanation I have for any coloring in my skin considering I spend 23.75 hours indoors.

Sometimes more.

And don’t go thinking that I’m one of those lucky olive complected people.

I’m not.

I’m just this side of albino.

And that’s after I put my make-up on.

It must be all that Orange Joos I’ve been drinking.

Or the pumpkin that gets mixed into everything.

Or the carrot fries.

Or the butternut squash soup.

Or this.

WHIPPED CHIPOTLE SPICED SWEET POTATOES

2 lb. sweet potatoes (about 2 large)

2 teaspoons natural peanut butter

1/2 teaspoon chipotle powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

Tidbit: These sweet potatoes are steamed before being whipped. Steaming retains more nutrients, flavor, and is quicker than boiling or roasting.

Add water and steamer basket to pot.

Peel and dice sweet potatoes-the smaller the dice the quicker they cook!

This is NOT an example of a small dice so they took about 25 minutes to steam. A smaller cut will cook in about half the time.

Add potatoes to the steamer basket and steam with the lid on until very, very soft.

Like mush.

Transfer potatoes to stand mixer or bowl and whip, adding some of the steam water (about 1/3 cup) if necessary.

Add peanut butter, chipotle powder, salt and whip until incorporated.

Tidbit: The peanut butter makes the sweet potatoes rich and creamy while adding a slight nutty flavor.  Use one without added sugar if you have it. 

Whip it.

Whip it good.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

