A New Years Revelation

It’s January 6th.

Are you a “new you” yet?

Yeah, me neither.

I’m going to keep on truckin’ with regular old me for a while.

I just couldn’t think of any resolutions this year.

Well, I did think of one but I don’t think I can tell you.

It’s embarrassing.

Like, really embarrasing.

And personal.

It has to do with bedroom things.

You know, between the sheets.

Ok, here’s the deal.

I don’t wash my sheets as often as a should.

I’m not going even going to consider telling you how often I actually wash my sheets.

You already know I’m gross.

You don’t need to know exactly how gross.

I can practically see all my previous house guests vomiting at their computers right now.

Well, you’ll be glad to know that guest linens get washed before and after each use.

By the way, thanks for doing that, Mom.

Ugh.

Just thinking about the tedium of stripping the bed, washing, drying, and remaking the bed is exhausting.

I’m already over it.

I think New Years Resolutions would be better if we could make them for other people.

That’s a great idea.

Husband, here is your New Years Resolution list, in case you were wondering:

1. Wash bedding, um, more regularly than your wife did.

2. Learn to like the little dog. He’s cute. Love him.

3. Assemble the shelving units your wife so desperately wanted for Christmas.

4. Take out all the recycling left over from Christmas.

5. Plan a date night with your wife. But don’t make it a surprise. She hates surprises.

6. Eat all of your wife’s delicious food.

7. Do not sneak out to Taco Bell afterwards.

Don’t worry, husband. I will be more than happy to be your accountability partner throughout this endeavor.

I was going to make some sort of sarcastic “New Year, New Husband” joke, but I could see how that might be grossly misinterpreted.

In any event, to help you accomplish your goals, I have prepared this for you.

Edamame Salad with Toasted Sesame Dressing

Don’t be afraid of edamame. It’s just a soybean. Don’t be afraid of soybeans, either. They’re just beans. I seriously hope you’re not afraid of beans. Then we can’t be friends.

1 cup frozen edamame, thawed*

1 medium carrot, peeled and julienned

(or 1 cup matchstick carrots)

1 red pepper, seeded and cut into thin strips

1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil

1 teaspoon reduced sodium soy sauce

1/2 teaspoon rice vinegar

Pinch ground black pepper

Optional garnish: Sesame Seeds

*To quickly thaw edamame, put it in a strainer under hot water for about a minute.

Add julienned carrots, red pepper strips, and edamame into a medium sized bowl.

Add toasted sesame oil, soy sauce, vinegar, and pepper.

Toss to combine.

Garnish with sesame seeds, if desired.

*Tidbit: This salad is great cold but you could also stir-fry it and serve it over brown rice or quinoa for a more substantial meal.

HAPPY

NEW YEAR NEW YOU NEW HUSBAND 

JANUARY SIXTH!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

