'Tis the Sneezin'

I think I can see it.

Do you see what I see?

I can practically hear it.

Do you hear what I hear?

Yes, I just know it.

Do you know what I know?

It’s disgusting.

I can just feel billions of little germs invading my office space.

I have been coughed on, sneezed on, and I’m pretty sure someone used my stuffed Frosty the Snowman to wipe their snotty little nose.

There appears to be a massive cold/flu epidemic hovering right outside my door.

I’m not taking any chances.

So I’m taking every opportunity to build up my immune system and super load it with Vitamin C.

Oranges are an obvious source and I’ve been eating them two at a time.

Between decontamination sessions.

But there are other Vitamin C packed foods that will help you fight a cold faster than a flying snot rocket.

Things like red peppers

Chili peppers

  Even parsley

And if you spend more time shoveling salsa in your face than shoveling the snow in your driveway, this is the winter salsa recipe for you.

It’s loaded with vitamin C rich fruits and vegetables to give you a fighting chance this flu season.

If you’re reading this on your smart phone in the middle of the produce aisle (because who doesn’t) put the fresh tomato down.

I SAID PUT IT DOWN!

Fresh tomatoes suck in the winter.

They’re all mealy and flavorless.

There is nothing delicious about that.

So push your little cart right over to the canned goods aisle and pick up a can of fire roasted tomatoes.

No salt added.

There is no sense in being so bloated that you can’t even squeeze into your flannel jammies.

Now walk back to the produce aisle and pick up some fresh oranges, red pepper, chili pepper, red onion, parsley, and cilantro.

Because we’re making

WINTER “VITAMIN C” SALSA

1 (12 oz) can fire roasted tomatoes (no salt added)

2 oranges, peeled and chopped

1 red pepper,  seeded and chopped

1 chili pepper, seeded and chopped

1/2 medium red onion, chopped

1 cup parsley, chopped

1 cup cilantro, chopped

salt, to taste

Drain the tomatoes and add to a medium sized bowl.

Gather your chopped oranges, peppers, onion, parsley and cilantro.

I like to put everything in a heaping pile and run my knife through the whole mixture until everything is minced.

Add the mixture to the tomatoes.

Toss until combined.

Add salt to taste.

Just in case you were thinking about it, don’t heat your salsa.

Heat kills Vitamin C.

Eat it on a tortilla chip like a normal person.

Or on salad.

Or inside a baked sweet potato.

Or on, um, a tortilla chip.

I ate so much of this the first day I’m pretty sure I’m immune to the plague.

Or whatever that green goo all over Frosty is.

Lovely.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

 Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

