Sweet and Sour

I can’t think of a better way to begin my Thanksgiving vacation than with a massive toothache.

(source)

You know.

The kind that feels like an earthquake is erupting on the entire left hemisphere of your head.

I have an urge to stuff whiskey soaked cotton balls in my mouth and wrap my head in gauze, old time-y style.

And because I’ve suffered enough, I’ve decided there is nothing wrong with adding a little sour mix to the whiskey.

Taken every 4-6 hours as needed.

And trust me, it’s needed.

This might be a good time to tell you that I am probably the most dramatic person on Earth.

The whole universe, even.

Probably the entire solar system.

I’m pretty sure even the mildest symptoms are indicative of certain death.

Toothaches: The silent killer.

At least, my husband threatened to kill me if I don’t stop complaining about my tooth ailments.

I threatened to kill him after he assaulted me with floss and mouthwash and made a big show of throwing away my disintegrating toothbrush.

He kind of has a thing about oral hygiene.

I may not be good at taking care of teeth but I’m super good at taking care of hunger.

Even if I have to gum all of my food on the right side of my mouth.

Sink your (good) teeth into a holiday bread that you can serve as a side, a snack or even for breakfast.  This comforting honey’d cornbread has whole, tart cranberries stirred right in the batter and gets a little extra sweetness from ginger ale made with real cane sugar.

CORNBERRY BREAD

2 cups white whole wheat flour

1 cup yellow cornmeal

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup honey

3 tablespoons canola oil

1 (12 oz) bottle good ginger ale

1 cup fresh cranberries + 1 tablespoon honey + 1 tablespoon flour mixture.

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a small bowl, coat cranberries with one tablespoon of honey.

Combine flour, cornmeal, baking soda and salt in a bowl.

Add 1 tablespoon of flour mixture to cranberries and toss to coat.

Add honey, canola oil, and ginger ale to bowl of remaining flour.

Stir just to combine.

Fold in cranberries.

Pour into greased loaf pan.

Bake for 55-60 minutes or until top is golden brown and springs back when touched.

This might be my all-time favorite quick bread recipe.

And I’m not being dramatic.

HAPPY CHEWING!

Leave a Reply

