A is for Apple

My sister is a lot of things.

She’s a wife.

A mother.

A teacher.

An organizer.

A crafter.

An athlete.

An entrepreneur.

And she’s also impossible.

Last week she sent me a picture of these:

(source)

She liked the presentation but did not want the caramel filling.

“What could I fill the apples with,” she asked.

I rattled off about five things that were rejected faster than a republican in the last election.

Sometimes I have serious doubts about our genetic link.

The girl does not like chocolate.

Or honey.

Or peanut butter.

She basically eliminated anything with any sort of viscosity that would set up inside of an apple.

“Oh, and it should be sorta healthy.”

“And taste like fall.”

She must think I’m a magician.

I spent most of Friday afternoon coming up with a recipe that I thought would meet most of her criteria.

The result was magical.

Dates and golden raisins blended in a food processor with   nut butter tastes surprisingly like thick, chewy caramel. Serve with apple slices for a fun and unique presentation.

CARAMEL APPLE SLICES

6-7 dates

1/4 cup golden raisins

1 tablespoon nut butter (almond, cashew, or peanut)

1/4 teaspoon apple pie spice

1 apple

Add dates, raisins, nut butter, and pie spice to a food processor.

Process until mixture is thick and sticky.

Set aside while you prepare the apple.

Cut the apple in half.

Use a melon baller to scoop out the core and center.

Brush with apple cider or apple cider vinegar.

Press date mixture into the apple.

Refrigerate for 20 minutes to let the date caramel set.

Cut the apple halves into slices.

The date caramel may separate from the apple slices a bit but you can just press it back into place with your fingers.

I was feeling pretty smug on Saturday morning since I had my magical non-caramel, fall tasting, healthy apple snack that was both honey and PB free.

I told my sister my plan to complete her impossible request for the blog.

“Just think apple crisp,” she said.

Did I mention she’s a mother?

Yeah, she’s a mother somethin’ all right.

Dear sister, I know you’re a teacher, but that was a really, really good first draft.

Please don’t make me re-do the assignment.

Fortunately for big sister, I still have little sister complex and need her validation.

Here’s the edited, revised, and polished product.

IMPOSSIBLY CRISP APPLE SNACK

6-7 dates

1 tablespoon pure maple syrup

1/4 cup quick oats

1/4 teaspoon apple pie spice

1/8 teaspoon salt

Add dates and maple syrup to food processor.

Process until dates are finely chopped.

Add oats, pie spice, and salt.

Process until mixture forms a ball.

Set aside and prepare apple.

Cut the apple in half.

Use a melon baller to scoop out the core and center.

Brush with apple cider or apple cider vinegar.

Press oat mixture into the apple halves.

Chill until firm, about 20 minutes.

Cut apple halves into slices.

This snack deserves an A for taste and nutrition.

Thanks to my sister for pushing me to try the impossible.

It almost makes up for that time you pushed me down the stairs.

Keep calm and snack on.

Follow Me on Pinterest

One thought on “A is for Apple

  1. Pingback: Recipe Round Up: 20 Healthy Fall Treats - The Sunday Funday

Leave a Reply

