The Scary Truth

I have been profoundly terrified exactly one time in my life.

Because my parents divorced when I was young, I split my time between  rural, forest covered Northern Michigan and the city of Detroit.

Which means I saw some stuff.

Specifically the time I saw a man walking around with a chainsaw.

And then he turned towards me and started chasing me.

I ran as fast as my little eight year old legs would carry me.

I’ll never forget the grating sound of that saw.

Apparently it was Halloween and we were at a Haunted House.

I just thought it was another weekend in D-town.

Do you remember when Halloween was actually scary?

Now we do things like have Harvest Festivals and go Trunk or Treating.

Have you heard of this?

People gather in parking lots and give candy out of the trunk of their cars.

That sounds suspiciously like drug dealing to me.

It’s like kids have their own personal Krackel dealer.

(source)

Don’t do Krackel.

Do Scarrots.

(Source)

CARROT FRIES

WITH GINGER KETCHUP

4 large carrots (or 7-8 packs of scarrots)

1-2 teaspoons coconut oil, melted

1/4 cup ketchup

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Peel carrots.

Remove tops.

Slice in half lengthwise.

Continue cutting in half lengthwise until you have fry-sized strips.

Coat with melted coconut oil.

Place on baking sheet and bake for 20-25 minutes.

Then broil until charred and crispy (3-5 minutes).

For Ginger Ketchup:

Mix ketchup and ground ginger.

Serve with carrot fries.

 

 

Feel free to serve these carrot fries for a fright night snack.

I do not suggest serving them out of the trunk of your car.

Have you ever seen the reaction of a kid who just got a package of carrots in his treat bag?

It’s really scary.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

