Can Do

I spent ages of 12-17 perfecting my image.

I didn’t want to be the stereotypical girly-girl so I wore black leather Doc Martin boots

and demanded my parents buy me a truck with stick shift

and joined the boys wrestling team.

I also threw out super tough sounding phrases like

“Open up a can of whoop-ass.”

As in, “if  you keep making fun of me for getting pinned in 8 seconds, I’m going to have to come over there in my spandex wrestling singlet and open up  a can of whoop-ass.”

I never actually beat anybody up though.

I didn’t want to get in trouble before cheerleading season started.

My teen years were one long identity crisis.

My image is much softer now.

Now I do yoga

and wear aprons

and bake cookies.

 I can still open up a can of whoop-ass though.

(Source)

But with this recipe, it’s more like opening up a can of kick ass.

Times two.

Much like a cheerleader joining the wrestling team, you wouldn’t expect to see pumpkin and refried beans hanging out in the same recipe, but I’ve pinned down the perfect way to enjoy it: combined with chili seasoning and stuffed into a burrito. 

Pumpkin and Refried Bean

Burritos

1 (15 oz) can pure pumpkin

1 (16 oz) can vegetarian refried beans

1 tablespoon chili powder

1 teaspoon cumin seed (optional)

salt, to taste

6-8 large flour tortillas

Add refried beans, pumpkin, and seasonings to a large bowl.

Mix thoroughly.

Scoop about 1/2 cup of mixture onto warm tortilla.

We interrupt this regular scheduled recipe for a…..

BURRITO ROLLING LESSON!

Fold over the sides of the tortilla.

Then fold over the bottom.

Then roll.

Be sure to tuck the edges in as you go.

Ta da!

Serve with chopped peppers, tomatoes, and romaine lettuce.

Got a can of pumpkin?

Forget the stereotypical sweet breads and pies.

Open up a can of kick ass and makes some burritos.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

