Give Me Five

I was doing some deep thinking over the holiday weekend.

So deep that I could hear crickets chirping.

Oh, wait.

That’s just Jiminy, the cricket that lives in my wall.

Jiminy must be hard up for a mate, because he is quite persistent.

Others (me) might define it as relentless.

Sometimes it’s harder to define things.

Like this recipe.

Is it a cracker?

Is it bread?

Crackbread?

It didn’t quite the addictive quality that I would expect of something called

“crackbread.”

It also requires teeth to chew it, further evidence that “crackbread” is not a fitting description.

Made with high protein garbanzo bean flour, this cracker bread is topped with sliced olives and cherry tomatoes. It reminds me a little bit of pizza with a crunchy outside crust and a slightly soft center. It’s best enjoyed right out of the oven but can be re-toasted for extra crispiness. 

Olive and Tomato Crisp Bread

1 cup garbanzo bean (chickpea) flour

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

3/4 cup water

6-7 cherry tomatoes, sliced

6-7 kalamata olives, sliced

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Whisk together garbanzo bean flour, olive oil, salt, and pepper.

Add water and stir until no lumps remain.

Pour into cast iron skillet.

Place tomatoes and olives on top of batter.

Bake for 30 minutes.

Remove from skillet and cut into 8 pieces.

Place on a baking sheet and cook for 15-20 minutes longer or until brown and crispy.

Serve immediately.

Jiminy serenaded me while I inhaled cracker bread.

That’s when I started philosophizing.

I had spent the day experimenting with recipes, none of which turned out exactly the way I wanted them to.

The pictures also left something to be desired (see above).

I was starting to feel quite bad about myself.

In fact, I often don’t feel good until I’ve accomplished something that I’m proud of.

Which got me thinking….

How do you define yourself?

Is it by what you do?

By your accomplishments?

Your successes?

Your failures?

How good your cooking is?

The car you drive?

The neighborhood you live in?

I often get caught in the trap of defining myself by what I do, and not the person I am.

In fact, I have a hard time even defining who I am without describing what I do.

Quick.

Let’s play a game.

I’m going to define myself using five words.

Single words only.

No phrases.

Me: Defined

1. Curious

2. Thoughtful

3. Humorous

4. Sentimental

*Cricket’s chirping*

(Literally and figuratively)

5. Creative

Your turn.

Define yourself in five words.

I sincerely hope “crackhead” isn’t one of them.

Go.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

