Schooled.

I love back to school time.

It reminds me of being a kid.

Picking out new pencils.

Trying on all my cool new clothes bought exclusively from JC Penney.

(source)

Dancing around my room in the skater shoes I begged my mom to buy.

Even though I never set foot on a skateboard.

Modeling my bright orange Jansport backpack in front of the mirror.

(source)

Riding my fancy, new bike past the cool middle school kids.

Showing off a little because I feel awesome.

And then falling in slow motion in front of all the cool middle school kids.

Oh wait.

That was last week.

Those poor kids did everything they could not to break into  hysterical fits of laughter.

They were kind enough to ask if I was ok.

Yes, I’m fine.

Just a bruised ankle.

And ego.

Man, I wish I could go back in time.

Not because I would take back the unequivocal embarrassment of being a 28-year-old women tipping over on a bicycle in front of a huge group of tweenagers, but because I miss the excitement of the mornings before the first days of school.

Where you plant yourself in front of cartoons and dive into a big old bowl of sugary cereal before the bus comes.

Except the responsible adult in me only keeps whole grain, low sugar cereal in the house.

(source)

That’s ok.

The adult in me doesn’t want an overflowing bowl of  sticky, sweet Honey Nut Cheerios with milk that gets infused with all the sugary goodness of toasted oat cereal.

Oooooooooooooooohhhhhh

I just lied like a middle schooler caught making out in the hallway.

I totally want that cereal.

I’ll just have to make my own.

Toasted oat cereal breaks out of social obscurity and hooks up with cool kids like maple syrup and peanut butter.  Cinnamon might even let it come over to scour Tiger Beat for photos of Justin Bieber.

Maple Nut OH’s!

3 cups toasted oat cereal

1 tablespoon pure maple syrup

1 tablespoon natural peanut butter

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Pre-heat oven to 300 degrees.

Whisk together syrup, peanut butter, and cinnamon in a large bowl.

*Tidbit: You may want to microwave the peanut butter for a few seconds to make it easier to mix.

Add the cereal to the bowl.

Toss to coat.

Make sure every Oh! is coated.

Spread cereal on a foil lined cookie sheet.

Try not to crowd the pan. This is not a middle school dance where you accidentally try to bump into the cute boy from gym class. 

 Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the cereal smells toasty.

Inhale it before Power Rangers ends.

Because, yeah, I still kind of watched that in middle school.

Don’t tell the cool kids.

It’s almost the end of the

GRATITUDE challenge!

Today I’m grateful for alternative bike routes to work so I never have to ride by the middle school again.

Just kidding.

I’m glad there are middle schoolers with good parents that teach their kids good manners.

Even if that means stifling a laugh at a grown women crashing her bike into a bush.

Breakfast is on me tomorrow.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

