Peach Pits

I’ve been in a bad mood.

For a month.

No, let me rephrase that.

I’ve had a bad attitude for the last month.

A lot of things happened in the month of July.

I returned to work after a two week vacation which meant a massive readjustment to the daily routine.

My husband left home again for his job….half-way across the world.

My supervisor, mentor, and good friend took a job outside our agency.

I took a new position at work which means saying goodbye to some very near and dear co-workers whom I’ve known and loved for the last three years of my life.

I spent 8 bajillion hours trying to come up with the perfect peach recipe for July’s challenge.

And I’m still not happy with it.

None of these things are horribly traumatic, but it was a lot to process in a short amount of time.

And there were too many times this month that I let negative thinking get the best of me.

The truth is that all of those changes are just life’s little happenings.

And in the grand scheme of things, I have an incredible amount of happenings to be grateful for.

So instead of focusing on life’s little hiccups, I’m going to spend the month of August focusing on all the greatness in my life.

By keeping a gratitude journal.

A cute one.

With polka dots.

To make it legit.

So now that we’ve got the 8th challenge for 2012 covered, you probably want to know how I fared for July’s challenge to create the perfect peach recipe for the local peach dessert recipe contest this Saturday.

Well, I spent a lot of time, money, and ingredients on a recipe that  just didn’t turn out the way I envisioned.

Oh crap.

Gratitude.

Um, I’m grateful that I had the time, money, and ability to try so many different recipes and come up with a delicious, if not an award winning, dessert.

 Although developing recipes can sometimes be frustrating and result in a lot of failures, the process is always exciting and I learn a little bit more about the science  of baking with every attempt.

And I’m thankful  that my co-workers so lovingly devoured  subtle variations of the same experiment for the past four weeks.

Even though one person asked me what I brought in that had “eyeballs” in it.

It was a pecan.

My co-workers are nuts.

I’ve loved spending the last three years with them.

And for that I am grateful.

See you Saturday for the Peach Festival!

 Follow Me on Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Peach Pits

  1. Well you know that you are the prize winning peach in the Bodnar family tree of nuts, they grow on trees too, right!. so by the authority vested in me, by me….I award you the Blue ribbon in the Bodnar Peach receipe bake off. Congratulations…By the way, your father made a peach torte last night that was yummy. He also made your shredded mushroom bar-bq sanwiches the other night. I am now a fan. We love uou

    mom C.

Leave a Reply

