Ready, Set….

Think this is a warm pan of warm,  gooey brownies?

Guess again.

Let’s shoot the shit, shall we?

I’ve been trying to figure out my digestive system for the past two years.

My doctor thinks its IBS.

That’s “irritable bowel syndrome,” he says.

That’s bull-shit, I say.

I don’t believe in IBS.

But I do believe that someday I will figure out my little problem with, ahem, going.

And not the lifetime of medication that my GI is proposing.

And certainly not the medication that has a side effect of abortion.

There has got to be a better way.

We all know that fiber is important for regulating our digestive systems.

But sometimes even a diet of fresh fruit and vegetables needs a little extra help.

I think I’ve tried just about every trick on the book including eating warm prunes.

Make that choking down warm prunes.

There has got to be a better way.

It’s not just the fiber in prunes that helps get the party going, they also contain sorbitol which acts a natural laxative in the body according to my other physician, webmd.

But I just can’t stomach another night of microwaved prunes.

IT’S GO TIME.

GO BARS


Whole grain oats, honey, applesauce, flax seed dates, and prunes all have natural laxative properties and are loaded with gut-friendly fiber that aids in the treatment of both diarrhea and constipation.

I’m sorry I just wrote that.

For the bars:

2 cups quick cooking oats

2 tablespoons ground flax seed

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup natural applesauce

1/4 cup honey

For the filling:

1 cup dried dates

1 cup prunes

1/4-1/2 cup water

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Add dates, prunes, and water to a small saucepan over medium heat.

The combination of dates and prunes makes a super sweet filling without that nursing home vibe.

Cover and cook for 5-7 minutes, or until soft.

Transfer to blender or food processor and process until smooth, adding water if necessary.

Let’s just pretend this looks like brownie batter. You’re looking for a sticky, jam-like consistency here.

In a large bowl, combine oats, flax seed, cinnamon, and salt.

Add applesauce and honey and mix until sticky dough forms.

Reserve half cup of oat mixture and set aside.

Press the rest of the oat mixture into greased 8 x 8 pan.

Spread the date and prune mixture over the oats.

Yes, we are still pretending this is a pan of gooey brownies.

Crumble reserved oats over the top of date and prune spread.

Bake for 35-40 minutes until filling is slightly bubbly and oats are toasted.

Allow bars to cool for 10 minutes and cut into 9 bars.

Serve warm.

We can stop pretending these are brownies now.

Because these bars have a good thing going.

You can also freeze these in individual portions. Re-heat in the microwave for about 30 seconds for that warm prune effect.

They’re filled with whole grains, fiber, and energizing dried fruit which makes them a great choice for an “on the go” breakfast or snack.

And they work.

The constipated pregnant lady across the hall told me so.

KEEP CALM AND DIGEST ON.

Follow Me on Pinterest

7 thoughts on “Ready, Set….

  1. I have a recipe for prune brownies I make for my son who has issues in the “going” department. He has never noticed they’re not “real” brownies & they can hang out in the freezer until you need one. And you will only need one! I’m away from my recipes at the moment but will be happy to share when I can if you’re interested! 🙂

Leave a Reply

