Boat Load

Boats are fun.

I spent many summers on the lakes of Northern Michigan.

There were entire sunshine filled days of tubing, waterskiing, and wake boarding.

Most of my time was spent trying to look cool in front of all the losers that were, gasp, stuck on the beach.

With no boat.

So lame.

Yes, boats are fun.

Especially for people who can afford them.

I am not one of those people.

I really miss being a boat owner.

And I’d really like to bring all the fun of a boat back into my life.

You’re invited.

Get on the boat!

The zucchini boat!

Take advantage of  summer’s produce by grilling up some zucchini boats and filling them with a farm fresh peach bruschetta.  

Grilled Peach Bruschetta in Zucchini Boats

2 zucchini squash

2 peaches

2 cups chopped tomatoes (cherry, grape, or roma)

1/4 cup diced red onion

1/4 cup kalamata olives, chopped

1 bunch basil (about half cup)

1 teaspoon olive oil

squeeze fresh lemon juice

olive oil for brushing

salt, to taste

Prepare grill.

Slice zucchini in half lengthwise.

Use a spoon to scoop out the seeds and center of zucchini creating a cavity to for the bruschetta.

Brush or spray on olive oil and season with salt and pepper.

Halve the peaches and remove the pit.

Place zucchini and peaches on the grill cut-side down.

Cook until tender.

The zucchini took about 12-15 minutes to cook. They might cook faster if you don’t open the lid every 3 seconds like I do.

Be sure to choose firm peaches that won’t fall apart on you when you add them to the bruschetta. These were ready in about five minutes.

To prepare bruschetta:

Dice the cherry tomatoes.

Add to large bowl.

Dice the onion and add to the bowl.

Dice the peaches.

Add the diced peaches to the bowl.

Chop the basil.

Add to the bowl.

Add the chopped olives.

Don’t like olives? Well, first of all, you kind of suck. Second, you can leave them out. The bruschetta is just as tasty with or without them!

Add lemon juice and salt.

Stir gently to combine.

Scoop brushetta into zucchini boats.

Remember to practice boater’s safety.

Man overboard!

 Serve immediately.

 

Peach Dessert Contest Update:

Peach Trifle Take 2

  I’m still not happy with it.

The ratio of jam to cake was off and it overwhelmed the dessert.

I also toasted half the almonds to sprinkle on top but the toasted flavor didn’t quite come through.

I’m think I’m going to take a different appeach, I mean, approach.

Keep calm and peach on!

Follow Me on Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Boat Load

  1. Uh oh…I don`t like olives…can we still be friends? I think I’d rather swap them out from some feta…. hopefully, shortly I will have boatloads (pun intended) of zucchini from my own garden to play with so I can try this and other recipes.

    • Yes we can still be friends 🙂 Only because feta would be a great addition to this bruschetta. I wonder if they make vegan feta? I might try it if I weren’t so afraid of what vegan cheese might taste like!

Leave a Reply

