Roll With It

Summer vacation wouldn’t be complete without going on a roller coaster ride.

And that’s exactly what the month of June felt like.

The Highs

1. My parents came to visit.

2. My husband came home after six months of contract work in Afghanistan.

3. My father-in-law came to visit.

4. I applied for a new job.

5. I applied for my professional license.

6. I finally listened to the “Call Me Maybe” song in its entirety.

7. I completed the hydration challenge.

8. Vacation turned into beer-cation.

The Lows

Even with beer goggles on….I miss this face!

1. All my house guests traveled back to their respective homes.

2. My husband left for six more months of contracting in Afghanistan.

3. My licensing application was sent back to me after being filled out incorrectly.

4. I didn’t get the job I applied for.

5. I finally listened to the “Call Me Maybe” song in it’s entirety.

6. I had to pee 54,000 times due to excessive water consumption.

7. Today is the last day of vacation.

8. Beer-cation is over.

Despite trying over 25 craft brews on beer-cation, I managed to stay adequately hydrated most of the time.

Beer-cation had it’s own highs and lows.

This picture is not blurry. You’re just drunk.

The Highs:

Avery White Rascal

Despite having the creepiest label ever, this beer was surprisingly good. It was really light with flavors of orange and coriander. I loved the citrus and spice combo. I just turned the bottle around so I didn’t have to look at the creepy demon thing.

Source

Dogfish Head Urkontinent

This dark beer was sweet and tasted like cherries and chocolate. Even the non-beer drinker at the table liked this one. Is Dogfish Head even capable of making a bad brew?

Allentown Breworks

I tried a sampler of beers brewed right at the restaurant including blueberry belch, pawn shop porter, hop explosion, and space monkey (raspberry saison). Not only was every single beer I tasted amazing, the food and service were both incredible. They had a ton of options that were easily made vegan and the server helped us navigate both the food and beer menus. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the Lehigh Valley area of Pennsylvania.

Source

The Lows:

Snake Dog IPA

This beer was loaded with hops and had a lingering bitter and grassy after taste. I’m not a fan of super hop-py beers….yet.
 Ok, that’s it for the lows.

I drank a lot of really good, really unique beers from all over the world.

I feel well traveled.

The application for my professional license was also approved, thanks to  an emergency trip to the licensing board to correct my mistake.

Yes, June was quite the emotional roller coaster.

I’m ready to say hello to July.

And Happy Birthday to America!

This slaw would be great to take to any Fourth of July festivities you might be attending. It has festive red strawberries, blueberries, and a creamy white dressing made with applesauce. It’s sweet, tangy, and the perfect accompaniment to all of your favorite BBQ foods.

Red, White and Fruity Slaw

For the slaw:

8 cups shredded green cabbage

2 cups shredded purple cabbage

1 large red onion, thinly sliced

1 cup sliced strawberries

1 cup fresh blueberries

For the dressing:

1 cup natural applesauce

2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

2 tablespoons lemon juice

2 tablespoons dijon mustard

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 1/2 teaspoons salt (or to taste)

1 teaspoon honey

1 teaspoon celery seed

Combine cabbage and onion in a large bowl.

*Tidbit: To save time, you can use 2 packages or store bought slaw. But make this dressing. This dressing rocks.

Add all of the dressing ingredients except celery seed to a food processor or blender.

Blend until smooth and creamy.

Pour over cabbage and onion.

Sprinkle on the celery seed and toss to coat.

Add the blueberries and strawberries.

 

Tidbit: For a festive and pretty presentation, don’t mix in the fruit until you are ready to serve. 

Tidbit: This slaw also tasted awesome with thawed green peas and additional salt and pepper.

July isn’t only about birthdays, BBQ’s, and big bowls of slaw, it’s also time for another challenge!

This month’s challenge is actually in preparation for next month.

The peach festival is coming up in August and that means it’s time to start preparing for the Annual Peach Dessert Recipe Contest.

That’s right.

I’m devoting a whole month to creating the perfect peach dessert.

KEEP CALM AND PEACH ON!

Follow Me on Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Roll With It

  1. Aww…the last day of vacation is always so brutal…hang in there, you’ll make it! That month does sound like quite the whirlwind….and if you have all this time on your hands, you could plan a weekend meet-up with a certain fellow blogger of yours…just sayin’ ;). Can’t wait to see what peachy keen things you come up with!

Leave a Reply

