A Moment of Clarity

I need to clear something up.

My urine, to be more specific.

What?

Dr. Oz can can talk about bodily processes, but I can’t?

My student loan debt is the equivalent of someone who should have a doctorate from an ivy league school, therefore I think I am allowed to speak on the subject.

Even though my degree is BS.

No, seriously.

I have a Bachelors of Science.

Science.

That pretty much makes me an expert.

But as I was saying, I need to clear my urine up.

Urine that is pale yellow or clear is a sign of good hydration.    

                                                                                           -Dr. Mehmet Oz

I have to agree with my colleague, Dr. Oz on this one.

Water affects every single process of the body so its important to get plenty of fluids.

So for the month of June, I challenge myself to:

1. Drink more water

2. Eat hydrating foods

3. Stay properly hydrated while enjoying summer cocktails

I debated on standardizing the amount of water and fluids I ingest each day ( I am a scientist after all),

but I think this might be a tad difficult given that the type of fruits and vegetables I eat each week is variable.

Variable.

See how scientific I am?

Maybe I’ll conduct an experiment to find out what the proper amount of water for a person of my size, stature, and activity level.

Nah.

That sounds like work.

I think I’ll just drink pure, clean water when I’m thirsty and be sure to eat foods with a high water content like tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuce, peppers, grapes, and melon.

After a long winter of roasted vegetables, I am more than ready for some raw, crunchy produce.

As the thermometer rises, it’s all about staying cool.

Stay cool with these cucumber sandwiches filled with a lemon and dill white bean spread. Soaked cashews help make the filling extra creamy and flavorful. Serve them as an appetizer for your next summer get together or enjoy them as a light lunch. 

Tidbit: This recipe starts with soaked cashews. Soaked cashews are pretty much a miracle ingredient that can be used for sauces, spreads, dressings, and even dessert because they are so creamy.  They play a pretty minor role for this filling, but don’t be intimidated by the extra step-it takes two seconds to prepare (minus soaking time) and is totally worth it!

Soak cashews in water for 1-2 hours (or overnight) and drain before use.

Lemon-Dill Cucumber Sandwiches

2 large cucumbers, sliced into 1/4 inch slices

For the filling:

1 (15 oz)  can Great Northern Beans, drained (but not rinsed)

2 tablespoons soaked cashews (drained)

1 clove garlic, roughly chopped

1/2 lemon, juiced

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons chopped, fresh dill

Drain beans, reserving liquid (just in case you need some extra creaminess!)

Add the beans, garlic, cashews, lemon juice and salt to food processor or blender.

Blend for 3-5 minutes or until very creamy.

Stir in dill.

Arrange cucumber slices on a plate.

Add a heaping teaspoon of filling to each cucumber slice.

Top with another slice of cucumber.

Sprinkle with pepper and garnish with dill, if desired.

Feeling less fancy?

Serve this as a dip instead.

Or in between two slices of a hearty, whole grain bread.

Even though I’m not a doctor in real life and only play one on the interweb, I strongly recommend that you join me for a month of hydra-therapy.

That’s the clinical term for, um, drink water until your pee is clear.

Now take two cucumber sandwiches and call me in the morning.

But not too early because I just finished a hydrating with a glass of wine.

It’s going to be a long month.

Happy hydrating!

Follow Me on Pinterest

4 thoughts on “A Moment of Clarity

  1. You are full of BS, I’ve got a BA and a BED (bachelor of arts and bachelor of education). Mmm…I actually really like cucumber sandwiches, think they’re underrated, am totally craving one right now and regretting that I don’t have any cucumbers in the house, and thinking your recipe looks ingenious and delicious. I will have to save it for summer though as bringing nuts in your lunch is sort of frowned upon as a teacher (lame, I know).

    • Food allergies are no fun! When we no longer had a student with food allergies, I made sure to bring in lots of peanut butter, coconut, and soy products. I felt deprived!!!

  2. haha okay so my roommate and I always talk about the color of our urine too after certain meals to tell if we are hydrated enough. Oh science majors 😉

Leave a Reply

