Green Thumb

I do not do well with choices.

I get easily overwhelmed.

When I was little, my mom probably had to tell me which toys to play with so I didn’t stare into the toy box for an hour and a half trying to decide between Alf and Teddy Ruxpin.

Alf is clearly the better choice. Always.

The refrigerator is my new toy box.

Sometimes I spend a solid 20 minutes staring at its contents trying to decide what to pack for lunch the next day.

And I eat the same thing every day.

It took me four months to decide which food processor to buy.

It’s been six months of carpet samples and still no decision.

I’m  that annoying friend who says “whatever you want to do is fine” when asked to make plans.

So is my husband.

We haven’t gone on a date since 2007.

 When faced with all the choices of green recipes I could make for May’s “Get your greens in” challenge,

I was instantly overcome with indecision.

There are so many possibilities!

With the weather warming up, cold salads are a no-brainer.

Serving them in lettuce cups is a super easy way to get your greens in.

 Actually, serving it in endive is a fancy way to get your greens in.

Meet the greens:

Endive

Endive helps remove toxins in the digestive tract.

Cucumber

Cucumber is an excellent source of vitamin K and has anti-inflammatory properties.

Parsley

Get pumped! Parsley is a good source of iron.

Dill

Got dill? Dill is a good source of calcium!

Bulgur Wheat Salad in Endive Cups

Don’t be intimidated by bulgur wheat. It’s simply a whole grain that has been partially cooked and it adds great texture to cold salads. Combined with cucumber, fresh herbs, and a citrusy dressing, bulgur wheat salad is an easy and light dish to keep in the fridge all summer long.

1/2 cup bulgur wheat, prepared according to package directions.

1/2 medium-large cucumber, diced (about 3/4 cup)

1/4 cup  chopped parsley

2 tablespoons of chopped dill

2 tablespoons chopped red onion

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

2 teaspoons olive oil

half lemon, juiced

Salt, to taste

*Tidbit: Everyone has a different preference for the amount of salt in a recipe, which is why I rarely include a measurement for it. Start shaken’ and tasting’ until its at a level that brings out all the other flavors of the dish. I used about 1/4 tsp. for this recipe.

Add bulgur wheat to a small sauce pan and add 1 cup of water.

Bring to a boil and reduce to simmer for 15 minutes or until water is absorbed.

Rinse with cold water and set aside.

If you haven’t already done so, chop your cucumber,  herbs, and onion.

Add to bulgur wheat.

Add garlic, pepper, lemon juice, salt, and olive oil.

Toss gently to combine.

Serve in endive leaves.

*Nutrition information found here and here.

GET YOUR GREENS IN

Now that my belly is full of green goodness, it’s time to get those other greens in the ground!

Now I just need to decide what I want for a snack………..

Follow Me on Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Green Thumb

Leave a Reply

