The Cookie Police

I don’t have a lot of personal experience with the police.

Except for that time I was questioned about credit card theft.

(It wasn’t me)

And the time I was caught underage drinking in college.

(Honesty is NOT the best policy)

((Run like hell is))

And the time I got into a car accident….with a bus.

(I didn’t see it?)

The woman on the bus that sued me might have needed a police officer.

To stop me from punching her in her “whiplashed” face.

Just so you know ma’am, suing three people in the same year seems slightly suspicious.

I suggest you take your 100 grand and get right with God.

But I digress.

When the police aren’t chasing around drunken college idiots and writing up accidents involving  major city transportation systems, they are doing very important things.

Like capturing the true credit card thieves.

(I told you it wasn’t me)

They also pretty much save the world on a pretty regular basis.

The nature of my job actually does require a fair amount of police interaction, and I thought it would be nice if I could find a way to say thank you for all of their hard work and dedication.

And for not making spend a night in the drunk tank.

The agency I work for was kind enough to let me hold a cookie drive (RAK!) so that I could deliver batches of homemade cookies to each of the state police troops in the county.

Now this is a big, fat cliche, but when I think of cops, I think of coffee.

I mean, they need a good cup of joe to carry them through exhausting shifts of busting bad guys.

Espresso is nice, but I have a feeling police try to avoid things that come in shots.

Like espresso.

And bullets.

The solution?

A cookie with two kinds of chocolate, coffee, and freshly chopped coffee beans mixed right into the batter.

It is the perfect balance of  bitter coffee and sweet cookie.

Pin It

MOCHA JAVA COOKIES

½ cup non-dairy butter

1 cup sugar

1 tablespoon chia seeds + ¼ cup brewed coffee

2 squares (2 oz) semi-sweet chocolate, melted

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 ¼  cups all-purpose flour

¼ cup cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

¼-1/2 cup chopped coffee beans

Chia seeds are much cooler than chia pets. The seeds offer fiber, protein, calcium, magnesium, and heart healthy omega -3's. Chia pets just die because no one EVER remembers to water the chia pet.

Combine chia seeds and coffee and set aside for five minutes to gel.

When combined with liquid, chia seeds make an excellent replacement for eggs in vegan baking.

In a small bowl, sift together flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt.

For a chewy, brownie-like cookie, reduce flour by 1/4 cup.

In a large bowl, cream the non-dairy butter and sugar.

Add chia mixture, melted chocolate and vanilla extract. Mix thoroughly.

Add dry ingredients and stir to combine.

Fold in chopped coffee beans.

Since the coffee flavor is prominent in this cookie, make sure to use a high quality bean. If you have extra because you don't regularly use whole beans, you can put the leftovers in glass vases and have a great smelling centerpiece.

Roll a heaping tablespoon of dough into a ball and place on a cookie sheet.

Tidbit: These look much better if you take the time to roll them into balls instead of just dropping the dough on the cookie sheet.

Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

The cookies will be very soft when they come out of the oven. Let them cool completely before shoving them in your face.

Bag the evidence.

Don’t forget the K-9 unit.

Thank you to all of the men and women who work hard to keep our community safe.

We appreciate all that you do!

You have the right to remain RAK’D!

Follow Me on Pinterest

4 thoughts on “The Cookie Police

Leave a Reply

