The Big V

Veggin’.

That’s what my friend calls me.

The veggin.’

I kind of like the name.

It’s funny.

It seems weird to me, though, to identify  myself as ” a vegetarian” or  “a vegan.”

No one else walks around saying “I’m an omnivore” and making loud proclamations during the staff luncheon that they DO eat meat.

I eat food.

I don’t define myself by it.

But if I did,

I would be vegan.

I would be

A

BIG

FAT

DOUBLE CHOCOLATE

VEGAN

MUFFIN.


Just because baked goods don’t contain eggs or dairy, doesn’t mean that can’t be insanely delicious.

The cocoa, chocolate chips, and cherries make this muffin decadent enough for dessert while the whole wheat flour and applesauce in place of oil make them perfect for a special occasion breakfast treat.

DOUBLE CHOCOLATE CHERRY MUFFINS

1 cup soy milk +2 teaspoons cider vinegar

8 oz. no-sugar added applesauce (2 single serve containers)

2 tablespoons canola oil

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour

½ cup cocoa powder

1 cup turbinado sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

½ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, chopped

½ cup dried tart cherries, chopped

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix soy milk and cider vinegar and set aside to curdle.

Meanwhile, sift together flour, cocoa powder, sugar,  baking powder, and salt.

In another bowl, mix applesauce, canola oil, vanilla, and curdled soy milk.

Add liquid mixture to dry mixture and stir just to combine.

Fold in chocolate chips and dried cherries.

Vegan tidbit: Check the label on the chocolate chips to make sure they don't contain any dairy products. I use Ghiradelli Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips or Baker's Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chunks

Fill muffin cups 3/4 full.

Bake  14-16 minutes.

I had a little extra batter, but I was out of regular muffin tins, so I made mini muffins.

Tidbit: Because this batter only uses baking soda to leaven, you want to make sure you get them in the oven within five minutes of mixing them.

Makes 12 muffins + 8 mini muffins

It’s good to be veggin’.

*For more vegan inspired meals, check out the VEGANMOFO blog!

Pin It

Follow Me on Pinterest

3 thoughts on “The Big V

    • I haven’t tried it with oat or almond milk. I think the fat content from the soy adds some moisture so I think almond milk would be a good substitution. I would love to hear how it turns out if you try it with the almond milk!

Leave a Reply

