You Say You Want a Resolution

I had a great time visiting with family and friends over the holidays.

But I’m exhausted.

I was looking forward to some much needed sleep on the flight home.

Instead, I sat on the world’s smallest plane listening to a Mom ask her 8 year old if he pooped his pants.

She didn’t even whisper.

When he denied it, she got louder.

BUT IT SMELLS LIKE YOU POOPED YOUR PANTS!

He continued to deny it.

I made a resolution to never fly on New Years Day ever again.

Speaking of resolutions, I had some time during the two hours it took to de-ice the plane in two different cities to think about what changes I wanted to make during the upcoming year.

Long commitments are intimidating.

Instead I decided to do

The 12 Challenges of 2012.

Each month I will challenge myself to try something healthy and new.

Or maybe I’ll just challenge myself to do something I always say I’m going to do but never actually get around to doing.

Like putting photos of real people in my picture frames.

Or cleaning the bathroom.

I picked a big challenge for January.

I’m going to eat a vegan diet for the entire month.

When I told my mom, she looked at me like I just told her I was considering becoming a nun.

The deer in headlights look I was getting told me she couldn’t quite understand why I would do this.

What is a vegan diet?

A vegan diet contains no animals or products derived from animals.

Why go vegan?

It’s good for your body, the environment, and animals.

This is a really cool website if you’re interested in learning more.

It’s cool if you’re not but it has a lot of helpful information about beginning a vegetarian or vegan diet and answers any questions you may have about getting proper nutrition while following a vegetarian/vegan diet.

But where will you get your protein?

Soy, beans, nuts, whole grains, and vegetables.

Yes, vegetables have protein.

But you won’t get enough calories!

Yes, I will.

I’ll eat the same amount of calories-they will just come from different sources.

Are you doing this to be cool?

No, I’m already awesome.

Why only one month?

I hate commitments but I love a challenge!

What will you do at the end of the month?

Keep eating food.

Maybe it will include fish, eggs, and dairy again.

Maybe it won’t.

What does your husband think?

He thinks we should hug more often.

Now if you’ll excuse me,

I have to go explode the kitchen with all my vegan cookery.

Hope you have a happy, healthy New Year!

Santa requested my vegan butternut squash soup instead of cookies next year.

Do you have any New Year’s Resolutions?

How will you accomplish them?

3 thoughts on “You Say You Want a Resolution

  1. Just stumbled upon your blog because my family decided to go Vegan in 2012. I was looking for vegan recipes and found your blog. I’m hooked!

    BTW – being vegan is as difficult as I had anticipated. There are a lot of products available in the local supermarket and it’s pretty easy to adapt favorite recipes. Vegan mashed potatoes are the best and Vegan Shephard’s Pie is a great comfort food.

    Looking forward to more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

