It’s the Thought That Counts

Here’s the problem with giving gifts.

You ask people what they want.

They tell you what they want.

But you’re pretty sure that’s not what they really want.

At least, it’s not what you want them to have.

Gift giving after all, is about how much fun you get to have shopping for said item.

I can’t honor your request for power tools because its just not fun to Christmas shop at Home Depot.

Or Auto Zone.

Or Best Buy.

Don’t worry.

I’m 60% sure you’ll like what I picked out for you from Target, Kohl’s, and the Kitchen Company much better.

I personally am enjoying the gifts I purchased for myself from each of those locations so you’ll probably like the stuff I picked out for you too.

Maybe.

Hopefully.

Co-workers are a little harder to shop for than friends and family because even though you want to get them something meaningful, you probably don’t have the cash to get them the new I-Pad they’ve been talking about.

You also don’t want to get them something lame like a paper-clip organizer.

That’s when you decide you want them to have some of your yummy homemade treats.

Homemade Chai Tea mix is the perfect gift for the non -coffee lover in your life (I know, I can’t believe they exist either).

This recipe has uses powdered milk, instant tea, and lots of spices.

If you can’t find all of the spices at your grocery store, you can omit them and add extra of the spices you have on hand. It won’t taste the same, but it will still have the comforting creamy texture and sweet, spiced flavor.

Many online recipes call for powdered creamer. I opted to use extra powdered milk and coconut oil to make it creamy without adding a lot of artificial ingredients.

Chai Tea Latte Mix

2 cups nonfat dry milk powder

2 cups sugar

1 cup powdered sugar

1 cup instant tea granules

2 tablespoons coconut oil

2 tablespoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla

¾ teaspoon ground cloves

¾ teaspoon ground ginger

¾ teaspoon ground anise

½ teaspoon cardamom

½ teaspoon ground black pepper

Blend all ingredients.

Tidbit: Dip cinnamon sticks in melted white chocolate to use as stirrers!

Makes about 6 cups of mix

Or about 20 servings

To make:

Mix 3-4 tablespoons with 6-8 oz. water or milk

 Use 5 tablespoons to make it extra creamy

 165 calories; 1.5 grams fat

Follow Me on Pinterest
Pin It

2 thoughts on “It’s the Thought That Counts

  1. I do love my Chai mix, Shana!!! Thank you! PS – I would also love a paper clip organizer. For real. Seriously.

    Thanks for the recipe. I plan on making it!

Leave a Reply

