A Crinkle in Time

I took Fridays off for the entire month of December.

I had some vacation time to burn.

I’m sure I didn’t save all my vacation on purpose so that I would be forced to use it during the holidays.

That would be inconsiderate.

I really thought having three-day weekends was going to be awesome.

I’ll get so much done, I thought.

I thought wrong.

It really just gives me another day to run around aimlessly without actually accomplishing anything.

But I did buy that one Christmas present for that one person.

It might go back to the store.

I’ll do it Friday.

With all that running around, I figured I should try to make it somewhat productive.

I figured, since I’m already running, I should probably just go ahead and enter a 5k.

A fun one.

With elves.

And a cookie contest.

I saw the CUTEST sugar cookie on pinterest that I was sure would be a winner.

Good thing I waited until the last-minute to try making them.

I forgot that I suck at decorating baked goods.

You know how when you were little, your sister would tell you that your face is so ugly that it will break the camera?

My cookies were kind of like that.

I didn’t even attempt photography for fear of breaking my camera.

Or more accurately so that you’ll never know how much I suck at making cute cookies.

I made a batch of Chocolate Meringue Crinkle Cookies instead.

I was supposed to be helping husband decorate the tree but he helped himself to entire quart of Silk Nog while I was busy averting the cookie crisis of 2011.

You know what’s really good fuel before running a 5K?

Deep, dark, chewy chocolate cookies.

They make you run faster.

I finished in second place for my age group with a time of 25:50. The top finisher came in around 18 minutes. EIGHTEEN MINUTES!??!?! I can't even bake a batch of cookies in 18 minutes!

But not faster than the girl who beat you.

I should have tripped her when I had the chance.

My cookies didn’t win, but I am definitely adding these to the Christmas cookie repertoire.

I better make some more because me and the treadmill have some work to do!

Chocolate Meringue Crinkle Cookies

(Adapted from 1,001 Low-fat Vegetarian Recipes)

3 egg whites, room temperature

¼ teaspoon cream of tartar

¼ teaspoon salt

2 cups confectioners’ sugar

½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, melted and cooled

¼ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Confectioners’ sugar for coating

Beat egg whites to soft peaks. Add cream of tartar and salt, and beat, adding sugar gradually until stiff peaks form. Fold in cocoa and melted chocolate. Fold in remaining chips. Roll tablespoon amount into powdered sugar to coat.  Bake 350  degrees until cookies feel crisp when touched, 8-12 minutes. Cool on wire racks.

Store in an air-tight container for three days or freeze up to 3 weeks.

Pin It

Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

