Apple of my eye

  Want to know how I know I’m a huge dork?

  One of my all-time favorite movie scenes is from The Wizard of Oz.

 Actually, every scene from The Wizard of Oz is my favorite, but one specifically stands out in my mind.

Remember the part where Dorothy and Scarecrow  find apple trees in the woods?

Being that Dorothy has just been through a tornado, killed a witch, met 800 singing midgets, and is now developing a relationship with a talking bag of straw, it stands to reason that she would be a tad hungry.

I still think it is hilarious when Dorothy and her haystack boyfriend go to pick the apples and the trees get pissed and start launching apples at them.  Assault and battery is funny when fruit and adults dressed as foliage are involved.

Image Detail

Source

I generally prefer to pick my own apples from the safety of the farmer’s market bin, but it’s not to say I wouldn’t enjoy a rousing game of  Mortal Kombat in the apple orchard.

The kid in me wanted a fun way to eat apples.

The adult in me wanted it to be healthy.

The cook in me came up with warm apple salsa with cinnamon sugar chips.  100% whole wheat tortilla chips get sprinkled with a combination of cinnamon and sugar and baked until crispy. Apples and pears are then cooked over low heat with raisins, cinnamon, and a touch of real maple syrup just until softened.

Warm Apple Salsa with Cinnamon Sugar Chips

For the chips:

10 whole wheat, medium-sized tortillas

2 teaspoons sugar (I used turbinado)

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Spray oil (such as canola)

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

Spray tortillas with canola oil and use finger to coat entire tortilla. Combine sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle onto tortillas.

Use cookie cutter for cut out shapes or slice each tortilla into 8 wedges.

Place on baking sheet.

Bake for 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned and crispy.

For Apple Salsa

1 medium baking apple, diced

1 medium Bosc pear, diced

1/2 cup apple juice or water

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon maple syrup

1/4 cup raisins

Place all ingredients except for raisins in a large sauce pan and cook over low-medium heat for about 15 minutes or until softened. Add raisins and continue cooking for five minutes. The apples and pears will be soft but still have a bite to them.  Makes about 1 1/2 cups.

Serve with cinnamon sugar chips.

Tidbits:

This recipe easily accommodates substitutions!

  • Make it in the microwave!  Omit water and microwave for  2-4 minutes or until softened.
  • Use two apples instead of pear
  • Try apple cider instead of juice or water
  • Swap apple pie spice for the cinnamon
  • Use your any of your favorite sweeteners instead of maple syrup
  • Increase cooking time for a pie filling consistency

The minimal amount of sugar in this recipe makes it perfect for a healthy dessert, after school snacks, or even a special breakfast treat.

5 thoughts on “Apple of my eye

  1. Pingback: Falling for Dessert | Hungry Healthy Hilary

Leave a comment