Orange Crush

Me: Knock knock

You: Who’s there?

Me: Banana

You: Banana who?

Me: Knock knock

You: Who’s there?

Me: Banana

You: Banana who?

Me: Knock knock

You: Shut the eff up.

No!

Wait!

I was going to say something clever like ‘orange you glad its fall?’

I have an affinity for orange foods.

At one point during my last grocery adventure, I peered down into the cart and it was filled almost entirely with orange items:

Cantelope

Papaya

Oranges

Carrots

Peaches

Pumpkin

Squash (butternut, acorn and spaghetti)

Sweet Potatoes

I had to buy some parsley just to balance out the color a little bit.

I hope you like orange as much as I do because it’s going to be a regular in the fall line-up.

I welcomed September with my all-time favorite soup recipe:

Butternut Squash Soup

This recipe is a little labor intensive, but the extra time and effort results in a velvety smooth and flavorful soup. The tartness from the apples and cider balance out the butternut squash nicely.

Butternut Squash Soup with Apple

(Adapted from The Barefoot Contessa, Ina Garten)

2 large butternut squash

2 Honey Crisp apples, peeled and sliced (or Granny Smith)

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 large yellow onion, sliced

2 cups vegetable stock

1-2 cups apple cider

2 teaspoons curry powder

salt and pepper to taste

To prepare squash:

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Cut squash in half length-wise and remove seeds. Place flesh side down on a baking sheet. Pour 1-2 cups of water on baking sheet (make sure it has a raised lip), being careful not to spill when placing in the oven. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until easily pierced with a fork. Remove from oven and allow to cool before removing skin.

Tidbit: Use a spoon to scoop the flesh out.

While squash is cooking:

Saute onion and apple in a large stock pot with oil until translucent, using a little vegetable stock if necessary. Add butternut squash and 1-2 cups vegetable stock, stirring to combine. Blend mixture using immersion blender or blender (will need to be done in batches) and return to stove to simmer. Add curry and 1-2 cups apple cider until desired consistency.  Serves 8-10.

I took a break from soup making to indulge in a pumpkin pie smoothie.

1/2 cup plain yogurt + 1/2 cup pumpkin puree + 1 tsp molasses + sprinkle pumpkin pie spice. Blend. Feel free to up the sweet factor by using sweetened vanilla yogurt and extra molasses.

Later,  I tried my hand at creating my own recipe for pumpkin cookies.

I envisioned some sort of crazy pumpkin coconut concoction with a “pumped up frosting.”

I couldn’t decide which version I liked the best so I present you with

Pumpkin Cookies 3 Ways

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/2 cup pumpkin puree (ya, know, like  the good ol’ Libby’s kind)

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

1/4 cup coconut or canola oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Sift together dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, combine sugars, oil, pumpkin and vanilla. Add dry ingredients and mix thoroughly. Roll about a tablespoon sized amount of dough into a ball and place on greased cookie sheet. Use hand to flatten slightly. Bake for 9-11 minutes. Makes 32 cookies.

The cinnamon scented cookies are sweet enough on their own but here’s 2 fun frosting additions.

Pumpkin Glaze:

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

Mix thoroughly and spread on cooled cookies.

Pumpkin Coconut Frosting:

1 cup confectioners sugar

1 tablespoon pumpkin puree

1 tablespoon coconut  or canola oil

Mix thoroughly and spread on cooled cookies. Top with additional coconut if desired.

*Note: I did not frost all of the cookies because I wanted the variety. You may need to double glaze or frosting recipes.

Clockwise from left: Pumpkin cookie with coconut frosting, pumpkin cookie with pumpkin glaze, plain pumpkin cookie.

Tidbits: If you can not find whole wheat pastry flour, go ahead and use all-purpose flour.

Coconut oil has a very distinct flavor and contains a higher percentage of saturated fat. Use canola oil for a more neutral taste and a dose of heart healthy fat.

Now excuse me while I go light the 9 pumpkin scented candles strategically placed around the house and gorge myself on orange hued food.

4 thoughts on “Orange Crush

  1. Oh Shana, you know the way to my heart, I love all of those foods. In fact, every time I read your blog, I find we are more alike (see my post tomorrow as to why). I need to make a pumpkin pie smoothie – stat! Just a word of warning: don’t eat too much orange food or you may turn that colour yourself! I guess your blog is matching all your favourite foods. 😉

Leave a Reply

