Grain of Truth

Let me set the scene for you.

The year is 1992.

I am 8 or 9 years old.

I am at a greasy diner with my Dad.

I peruse the menu for .03 seconds and order what I always order: a tall stack of pancakes.

high%20stack%20of%20pancakes.JPGNo sides. No juice. Straight up pancakes with a glass of milk.

I hastily devour the entire stack, taking care to resupply any syrup that may have soaked into my flapjacks.

I could eat more but there is only a puddle of maple  flavored corn syrup left. Guess I’ll drink the milk.

Two hours later we are at my Aunt’s house and there is a freshly baked chocolate cake made with cocoa and love sitting on the counter.

I wanted it. All of it.

Cross my heart and hope to have a coronary, I was still hungry. How could one little person be so ravenous after eating a huge plate of pancakes just a few short hours ago?

Bread-y, carb-y foods just never seemed to leave me with a satisfied feeling.  My stomach was full but I was still hungry.

Heading into the teen years, I could still kill a big bowl of Frosted Flakes and buttered toast and get hunger pangs by second period. How convenient, then, that an impressionable, insecure teen would grow up smack dab in the middle of the low carb craze that became so popular in the 90’s. Eat protein! Lose weight! Beat heart disease!

Like any reasonable 15 year old, I was convinced that 110 pounds was fat and I should probably give up carbs. When I quickly realized that the only things in the fridge I could eat were deli meet and cheese, I decided it might be ok to eat fruit. This actually worked for me for a very long time and eventually the out of control bread and sweets cravings went away.  Unfortunately, the whole idea that “bread and carbs were bad” was a message I carried with me into adulthood. I fed right into it, too, because bread only left me feeling hungry and dissatisfied.

Have you ever been around someone who was on a diet and they were irritable, moody, and downright mean?

Did you ever tell that person to go eat a sandwich?

There’s a reason.

The brain lives off of carbohydrates. The sugars in carbohydrates are the body’s preferred source of fuel because it is so easy for the body to convert it into  energy.

Energy I was lacking because I was depriving myself of  proper fuel.

I recently decided to have a big WELCOME BACK BREAD! party.

In my belly.

Only this time I would choose whole grains that had fiber and protein to help fill me up and pair it with other high protein foods and lots of fruit and veggies.

I decided to kick off the party by reintroducing myself to a long, lost friend.

Buckwheat Apple Pie Pancakes

1 cup whole grain buckwheat flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 tablespoons  sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 cup chopped apple pie filling

2 cups milk ( I used almond)

1/4 cup orange juice

1 egg

Heat cast iron skillet (You’ll know its ready when a drop of water sizzles on it).

Combine dry ingredients in medium-sized bowl.

Add milk, orange juice,egg, and pie filling. Whisk just until moistened.

Pour 1/4 batter into hot skillet and cook until there are lots of air bubbles. Flip and cook for about another minute.

Serve with additional pie filling if desired.

Buckwheat flour has a bold, toasty flavor but is very light and helps make pillow soft whole grain pancakes. It's also gluten free, easily digested, and one of the best sources of plant protein.

4 thoughts on “Grain of Truth

  1. Oooh yummy. You didn’t say what to do with the pie filling though…is it just a topping? As usual, so funny and a delight to read. And you are so right: bread is not the enemy…it’s all a matter of what you pair it with…my bagel thin that I just ate for lunch would have been mighty lonely without the Brie that got melted on it! And once again, I read about your baking ventures and sigh and wish we lived closer together.

  2. It’s been so long since I’ve seen you eat bread-y carbs!! I cannot imagine seeing you eat a sandwich or pancakes for that matter! How many pancakes did you eat—1/2 of a small one?!

    Welcome back to ’92, little sis!

Leave a Reply

