Coffee, tea, or me?

You look hot.

 I don’t mean good-looking, although you probably are very easy on the eyes.

I mean all the 100+ degree temps have you looking a little peaked.

And dehydrated.

You probably toss and turn all night long because the stale, humid air refuses to circulate despite the 20 fans you have pointed at your bed. If you are lucky enough to have central air, you probably just received your bill for June and had to sell a major appliance just to cover the enormous increase.

I can see that you need a little pick -me -up and a reason to get out of bed in the morning.

Oh, you think I’m talking about coffee?

Pffffffffftttttttttt.

Coffee is soooo 2008.

I’m talking about Chai Tea.

Not to be confused with Tai Chi, which is a form of gentle stretching that fulfills the physical education requirement for lazy college students.

Tai Chi Chuan RCC 2008 Demo 7 | Free Pictures

(Source)

 Not that I would know anything about that.

I’ve been thinking about taking a break from my daily iced latte habit in the interest of healing my intestines, but I knew I couldn’t give up my need for something creamy and cold to get me through the first four hours of work.

Yep, I sip on coffee all the way until lunch.

It’s like my nicotine.

Knowing that an ice-cold coffee is in my near future keeps me from upending my desk and taking a baseball bat to the copier ala Peter from Office Space.

View Image

(Source)

I mean, seriously, who is responsible for replacing the toner anyway?  I would assume that SOMEONE has access to the apparently secret toner closet and is trained in the fine art of copier maintenance yet our machine seems to be chronically absent of the necessary parts to function properly.

Oh, excuse me.

I’m still a little bitter about the fact that they took my colored printer away. And I’m obviously in need of a mood enhancing caffeine fix so let me get back to the point.

My point being that I need something tasty to sip on until it’s time to break out the lunch box.

Water is boring, so that was out.

I don’t like juice, so that got nixed.

I have some sort of sensory issue with fizzy drinks, so I 86’d that idea.

That leaves tea.

And tea without 16 tsp. of sugar is like drinking flower flavored dust.

Or is it?

I had a flashback to college when  I lived on Chai Tea Lattes and Chocolate Muffins. You know, because it was like they were free since I purchased them with my “Bear Bucks.” Free meaning my parents horked over  $6000 for room and board while I swiped a college issued credit card with a seemingly limitless balance.

Credit card | Free Pictures

(Source)

Ah, the good old days.

Well, now that I’m poor because I actually have to pay the loans that paid for all of my “free muffins,” I am required to make specialty beverages at home instead of purchasing them at the local cafe.

After reviewing the number of spices that were  to make my beverage, I decided save my pennies and purchase a pre-made product.

(Ok, the truth is I finally got my spice cabinet organized just the way I like it and am unwilling to spend four hours playing ingredient tetris trying to accommodate the newcomers).

Instead a bought a box of tea-bags (insert inappropriate jokes here).

Now, this is a pretty tough recipe so try to stay with me.

Boil water.

Add tea bags.

Wait.

Remove tea bags.

Pour into a carafe.

Store in fridge.

I know, I know. This one is quite advanced but stick with it.

When you are ready for your liquid libation, pour  1 cup of the cold tea into a glass filled with ice and add 1 cup of almond milk. You can use any milk but almond milk is especially delicious with the cinnamon, cardamom, nutmeg and ginger flavors of the Chai. A teaspoon or two of molasses makes this exceptionally good, but honey or plain sugar would be just as yummy.

Stir and enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Coffee, tea, or me?

  1. Pingback: Just Peachy « foodofmyaffection

Leave a Reply

