I Bleed Red, White, and Blueberry

I went blueberry picking this weekend.

This is what I looked like before.

This is what I looked like after.

View Image

My parents are visiting so of course I had to take them to my favorite orchard.

You can’t just walk up to the blueberries and start picking them, though.

You have to sneak up on them.

Be very, very, quiet. I’m hunting blueberries………

And you  need to be stealth like if you’re going to sneak a bite or two.

So I distracted the farm hands.

Look! Miniature fighting goats!

Then we popped these babies into our pie holes.

We were kindly redirected to this sign.

I didn't see this. Did you see this? No? Yeah, I didn't see that. Sorry.

But blueberry stealing picking is very hard work.

My blueberry belly is about to burst.

Ice cream will probably remedy this situation. I bet they have blueberry flavored ice cream!

Oh look! They do!

The blueberry cheesecake ice cream was rich, creamy, and chock full of whole berries. I thoroughly enjoyed it despite having to actually pay.

When we got home, we were still hankering for some ice, cold blueberry treats.

It was finally time to whip out the popsicle molds.

Please tell me why you would ever pay for colored corn syrup when you can make tons of fun popsicle flavors at home using simple, all natural ingredients?

For this round, we used

 1/2 c. plain, fat-free yogurt

1/2 cup fresh picked (and paid for!) blueberries

Juice of 1/2 an orange

2 tbs. agave nectar

Combine all ingredients into a blender. Blend until smooth. Pour into popsicle molds and freeze for at least four hours.

Devour.

The soft texture of the popsicles made them ideal for taking massive bites of frozen blueberry goodness.

Hey look! My shorts match the blueberries. Guess I'm the lucky winner of the PB2 giveaway since no one else entered! You're missing out on free stuff people. Get at it!

 Oh whatever will I do with all of the leftover blueberries?

3 thoughts on “I Bleed Red, White, and Blueberry

  1. Ker, you can also use any sweetener you want. Plain old sugar or splenda would work with these, Check out the popsicle link for lots of fun ideas. Also, you can freeze them in ice cube trays and enjoy them one cube at time or float them in your favorite chilly cocktails!

Leave a Reply

