Little Things

I went to visit my cousin who recently had a baby.

Well, the visit combined with all the blogging of raspberry babies has my mom in hypergrandmother mode.

She sends my aunt  a text that goes something like this:

Could somebody please take a picture of Shana with the baby so I can at least get an idea of what she would like holding one.

Subtle. No passive aggressiveness there. None. None at all.

So my aunt obliges and I do my best to look like I’m not terrified that if I move my arm one centimeter to the left that I could somehow lose all control of my appendages and cause irrevocable harm to someone else’s child.

That look on her face is because she's knows I'm coming to hold her. I don't know who was more worried!

After receiving the picture,  my mom sends me this sweet little message:

Shana, you look good with one of those. You should think about having one someday.

To which I reply:

For every hint at my reproductive properties, I am going to make you wait another year until you can become a grandmother.  You’re already looking at 2013 and edging ever closer to 2014.

In my Mom’s defense, she waited patiently for about the first two years after I got married before she started in on the child-bearing inquisition. Ugh, child-bearing.  That sounds an awful lot like work.  The thing is, hubby and I wanted to enjoy our first few years of marriage baby free and figure out how to live as two before adding a third complicated little being to the picture. Since we still can’t seem to time our tooth brushing without someone nearly spitting on the back of the other’s head, I’m not really sure we’re ready to make any major additions right now.

But oh man, that doesn’t stop people from asking the dreaded

So, when are you two going to have kids?

 This question usually comes after listening to 45 minutes of child rearing horror stories like 33 hours of intense labor or having your toddler lock you in the bedroom and then proceed onto the roof with the other baby to see if said baby can “land” in the pool below.

Um, that sounds awful. And it wasn’t a very convincing argument toward the goal of getting me to procreate. I needed a xanax just listening to that.

There’s really no good answer to that question. It’s like asking “so, when do you think you’ll die? Do you think it will be a long time or do you think it will be in the next few weeks? Could you give me an ETA? I’m getting kind of restless thinking about it.”

Let me assure you people, it will happen when it’s supposed to happen. And don’t think that I’m not going to tell you about it  either because I think it will be fairly obvious when I start eating strawberry and pickle smoothies and my pants have that giant band of blue stretchy material to accommodate my expanding midsection.

In the meantime, I plan to nourish my reproductive organs with lots of nutritious foods so that when I do actually decide to be a parent to more than canines and plants, my body will be ready.

What does a body of child-bearing age love?
Folate!

Folate is named for “foliage” meaning that leafy greens are a rich source of it, but it can be obtained in many other foods such as:

Broccoli

Spinach

Green Peas

Carrots

Oranges

Strawberries

Watermelon

Peanut Butter

Tofu

Garbanzo beans (hummus anyone?)

Asparagus

Yogurt

Cottage Cheese

Actually, the list goes on and on.  Folate is important for women of child-bearing age because it reduces the risk of neural tube defects. It also plays a role in preventing heart disease and possible cancer. (See source below).

It sounds like some serious summer salads are in order.

I don’t do measurements with salads because it’s really up to you how much vegetation you want on your plate. I’ll just give you the ingredients and you do your thing.

Strawberry spinach Salad with Honey Balsamic Vinaigrette

Spinach

Sliced Strawberries

Chopped asparagus (grilled or steamed)

For vinaigrette:

1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

3-4 tbs. honey

4 tsp. dijon mustard

1-2 tsp. curry powder

This makes multiple servings so don’t go dumping the whole thing on your salad. That would taste like crap.

Carrot Salad with Grapes and Gingered Tofu

Shredded Carrots

Grape Halves

1/5 block of firm tofu

1 tsp. powdered ginger

Cilantro

Honey Balsamic vinaigrette

Press excess water out of tofu using paper towels. Sprinkle with powdered ginger and cut into cubes. In a bowl, combine carrots, grape halves, and tofu. Add vinaigrette and toss to combine. Top with cilantro. Feel free to leave out the tofu if it doesn’t rock your world like it does mine. It would be equally delish either way.

This is one those "sounds weird" but tastes amazing recipes. Try it. If you hate it, you never have to eat it again. Simple.

You know what's not good in a salad? Bugs. Sorry, hon. I'll be sure to triple wash the lettuce next time.

Source:

Whitney, E.N., & Rolfes, S.R. Understanding Nutrition Ninth Edition (2002). Belomont, CA:Wadsworth Thomson Learning

2 thoughts on “Little Things

  1. Shana, I am so glad you wrote this post. Someone had to say it! It’s so weird how interested other people get in your reproductive choices–especially after those horror stories! Maybe it’s a product of having kids yourself?

Leave a Reply

