Making a Scene

Saturday was date night.

Hubby had to be a weekend warrior during the day so we wanted to do something fun in between the mornings he complained about shaving his mountain man beard and grudgingly putting on his fatigues.

We hadn’t been to the movies in about a year so we decided it was time to pay too much money to sit uncomfortably close to a mammoth screen nudging elbows with a room full of strangers.

I was in the mood for a super high action flick filled with guns, violence, and unneccessary cussing every 3 seconds but hubby really, really, really wanted to see Bridesmaids. Because I am such a compromising wife, I agreed to see the SNL alums getting rowdy in taffeta.

My soldier man stole a kiss and bid me goodbye until our movie matinée.

I spent the next half hour on the exercise bike plotting the snacks I would sneak into the theater (because everyone does their meal planning in the middle of a sweat session).  Sure, normal people actually pay for snacks at the movies, but with the recent increase

I had to find an outfit to match my "snack smuggling purse." I decided on a brown empire waist dress even though last time I wore it a lady asked if I was "expecting." I asked her if she was expecting....to get punched in the face.

in the price of tickets, we were already sacrificing a month of air conditioning  just to get seats. There was no extra cashola for a $5 box of raisenettes. Plus that liquified oil butter they pour over the popcorn makes my aorta hurt just thinking about it.

Then I realized that the movie was smack dab in the middle of my usual dinner time.

The plot thickens.

I now needed to upgrade the sneaky snack scheme into a full length supper smuggle.

Operation meal at the movies was about to go down.

Here’s the thing about movie snacks: You need something small that you can munch on for two and a half hours and you also need something irritatingly crunchy so you can piss off the person bogarting the arm rest and drink holder.

Oh, and maybe it could be kind of healthy so your body doesn’t go into cardiac arrest before the opening credits.

Thankfully, by mile seven of the stationary bike, I had cooked up my plan.

I would make Roasted Garlic Hummus with assorted fresh vegetables and not one, but two flavors of popcorn to keep things interesting during the inevitable mid movie point where I seem to suddenly develop ADHD.

Roasted Garlic Hummus

3 cloves of garlic

1 can of chickpeas

2 tsp. sesame oil

1/4 cup vegetable stock

Juice of half a lemon

Salt

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Peel garlic and place on baking sheet. Bake for about 20 minutes or until browned on the outside.

Remove from oven and let cool. In a food processor (or blender for the less fancy folk such as myself) pour in the drained chickpeas, roasted garlic, sesame oil, veggie stock, and lemon. Blend until creamy. Yes, you have to stop the blender and scrape the sides a bazillion times but it’s totally worth it. Add salt to taste.

For the popcorn, I was craving a little sweet and spicy combo so I decided to do two batches that I could mix according to my mood. I decided on Cocoa Coated Popcorn and Honey Chipotle Popcorn.

For Cocoa Topping:

2 tbs. turbinado or regular sugar

1 tbs. cocoa powder

2 tsp. water

dash of cinnamon

Mix all ingredients until thoroughly combined.

For Honey Chipotle Topping:

2 tbs. honey

2 tsp. water

Dash of chipotle powder

Mix all ingredients until thoroughly combined.

Air pop 8 cups of popcorn. Place four cups each in two large bowls and coat each bowl with one of the toppings.

Bonus! Popcorn counts as a whole grain food and we all know at least half of your grains should be whole grains!

If desired, bake in 350 degree oven for 15 minutes for extra crunch factor. Sprinkle on desired amount of salt. This was delicious right out of the oven but I wouldn’t suggest making it too far in advance of the movie.

 First I sampled the cocoa corn. It was sweet and crispy without being too rich. The honey chipotle started out slightly sweet and then a subtle spiciness came through. Then I tried a mouthful of both flavors.

Oh. My. Goodness.

The cocoa combined with the chipotle was incredible. It was sweet, spicy, salty and satisfying all in one bite.

It was hard not to spit out my corn while watching a bride drop a deuce in her wedding dress in the middle of the street.

Yes, that actually happened in the movie and you should probably whip up a batch of homemade popcorn, take a second mortgage out on the house and buy tickets to see this film.  If you decide to wear one of your own discarded bridesmaids dresses to the theater, that’s cool too. If you snap a picture of yourself doing it, I will mail you package of gourmet popcorn.

4 thoughts on “Making a Scene

  1. Pingback: Little Things « foodofmyaffection

Leave a Reply

