I'm having a baby!

A sugarbaby watermelon that is! 

 Bet that got you to click on the link, though!

It’s finally watermelon season.  I get ridiculously excited at the first watermelon sighting. When I see those round, green melons peeking out from wooden crates, my heart starts to flutter and my salivary glands kick it into high gear. It’s all very Pavlovian. Believe me when I say I can eat serious amounts of the summer fruit.  The perfect melon is one that has bright pink flesh and is already covered in those tiny sugar crystals that pop in your mouth when you take a bite.  I plan to make a variety of refreshing treats using the master of all melons this summer. Today, however, it was all about simplicity and I enjoyed it straight up with a basil chaser. Let summer begin!

Don't spit out the seeds! You might have known watermelon is packed with vitamins A and C but did you know the seeds contain valuable nutrients such as protein, magnesium, potassium, iron, phosphorus, and zinc?

See that cute little dessert dish? I got that at a community yard sale. Hubs and I packed up all of our crap, hauled it to a designated site, and sat in lawn chairs while people rifled through our personal effects.  It was extremely gratifying when someone approved of our throw away household goods, but it was kind of a hit to the ego when something was passed up. Is it normal to be offended when people don’t want the crap that you don’t even want yourself?  If you’re going to examine something for a solid ten minutes, I think it’s a courtesy to just take the item and roll since you’ve already got my hopes up at the anticipation of making a 75 cents.  I think the idea of a community yard sale is great if you don’t keep stealing your profits to go shop at other tables. What? I needed those kids green converse sneaks. I also shopped from my own table and reunited with a pair of skinny jeans that I had no business giving up in the first place. What was I thinking? Anyhow, the sale was a raging success and we ended up making more money than I make in a full day at work.  Did you get that? I made more money selling trash than I do helping kids with mental illness. Nice.

See what happens when you comment on my blog? You get cookies in the mail!

In cookie news, my Mexican Chocolate Snickerdoodles sold for $30.00 in the blog bake sale and are currently on their way to Massacheusetts. While I was baking those up, I decided to make good on a deal that I made in the Cinco De Mayo post. I promised a batch of cookies to anyone who could tell me why we celebrate a seemingly random day in May. Of course my sister, a teacher, promptly responded and then sat back smugly to wait for her reward.  My sister is a huge advocate of healthy snacking, so I knew I needed a cookie that had some semblance of  nutrition to it so I decided to send her some banana oatmeal chocolate chunk cookies. I probably say this at least once a week about some food item or another, but these just might be my fave cookie right now.  Actually, I’m more of a fan of the cookie dough than the actual cookie and since there are no eggs in this recipe, it’s perfectly reasonable to bake a half-dozen cookies and save the rest for sneaking bites out of  dough out of the freezer.  You know you would do it too, so don’t judge. These cookies also passed the co-worker test (even the picky, “I’m allergic to everything” co-worker) so you should probably bake up a batch, like, tonight. It’s best described as a cookie-muffin hybrid that’s bursting with banana flavor. Lots of whole grain oats add to the health factor and make it a filling snack as well.  So make the cookies or just eat the dough. I don’t care. Just do it. I SAID DO IT!

Banana Oatmeal Cookies with Chocolate Chunks

1 medium, ripe banana

1/3 cup canola oil

2/3 c. sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

3/4 c. + 2 tbs. flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

2 cups quick cooking oats (not instant)

1/2 c. chocolate chips, mini chocolate chips, or chunks

Smash banana with a fork. I mean really snoosh it.  Go ahead, work out that aggression. I’ll wait. Add the oil, sugar, and vanilla.  Combine the flour, soda, salt, and cinnamon and add to the banana mixture. Stir in oats. Add chocolate chips. Place two inches apart on greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

View Image

Lavash has just seven easy to read ingredients compared to tortillas 15 unpronounceable ingredients and chemical additives. You get a whole "loaf" of this flatbread for 220 calories, no fat, and 8 grams of protein! Maybe I need to experiment with a whole wheat lavash recipe?

With all these cookies floating around our house, I bet you’re wondering what’s for dinner. On the menu tonight? Flatbread pizzas! Hubs is always tearing up some tortillas but they are loaded with additives and unidentifiable ingredients. I was pretty excited when I ran into this little thing called Lavash bread

in the bakery section of the grocery store. The ingredient list was short, sweet, and contained words I could pronounce.  He thought they were a little dry for his usual peanut butter and jelly wraps but I thought they would be perfect for crispy, flatbread pizzas.

So that’s exactly what they became.

 

One thought on “I'm having a baby!

Leave a Reply

