The Mother Load

Mom was never able to get me to stop playing with my food.

Happy Mother’s Day! I am truly lucky because I have not one, not two, not even three, but FOUR mothers to celebrate today.  I have two mothers that inherited me when I got married, one step mother that is my best blueberry picking buddy, and one very special mother that gave birth to me and saw to it that I didn’t seriously injure myself from birth until, well, she still calls on a regular basis to make sure that all my body parts are still in tact.  I have never had a shortage of motherly love in my life and am thankful to be raised by such amazing women. It’s not to say I always appreciated the love and support, however.  From ages 12-17 years and 364 days, I thought my mom was pretty much the lamest person on the planet. I mean, she spent all of her time  working  overnight shifts, cooking, doing, laundry, paying bills, and trying to figure out how to buy me the name brand shoes I so desparately needed to be cool (thanks for the kicks, by the way. Too bad they didn’t succeed in increasing my coolness factor one iota).  Plus, I never saw her drink all those delicious looking frosty adult cocktails that everyone else in the world was consuming. How was a rebellious curious teenager supposed to steal sips of alcohol if she never had anyone to steal from? Lame.

Enter Ocean City Family Vacation of 2010.  I have never seen my Mom so kicked back and relaxed. It may have been the prescription pain killers from her back surgery two weeks prior (she was NOT going to let a little thing like scalpel incisions and bone degeneration stop her from chillaxing by the pool) but I have a sneaking suspicion that it was the poolside bar service that kept my mom in such high spirits.  For it was here that she discovered that lusciousness of the frozen mango mojito.  What?!?! My straightlaced, workhorse of a mother was ordering liquid lunches from a lounge chair? Was this the same woman whose cranberry juice I had to spike at my best friend’s wedding?

I smiled inside. She was finally letting loose. Fear not, dear readers, my mother obediently abided by the ‘no drinks before noon’ rule, set forth by her own parental units.  If I wasn’t careful, she would be able to drink me under the table by the end of vacation.  Not one to be outdone, I immediately ordered my own frozen beverage but was sure to charge it to my parents tab. I’m sure they love still being financially responsible for their nearly thirty-ish daughter.

But let me tell you, that little concoction was TASTY. I think I needed another. Make that another round. Put it on the tab.

My mother, aunt, and grandmother all dutifully tried to recreate the recipe, but I’m not sure if any of them rivaled the sweet Ocean City  treat. 

Thus, I was inspired to find a recipe that would remind my mother of last year’s family vacation. However, I thought a mango mojito recipe sans alcohol would be more practical as it could be enjoyed any time of day, instead of  waiting for the clock to strike twelve.  Who wouldn’t want a mojito for breakfast?

Mango Mojito Sorbet

1 mango, peeled and diced

1 medium banana

6-8 mint leaves

Juice + zest of 1 lime

1/4 -1/2 cup soy milk

Freeze  peeled banana and mango chunks. When frozen, place in blender with mint leaves, lime juice and zest, and 1/4 soy milk. Blend until creamy and smooth. Add more soy milk if necessary.  If desired, add a shot or two of rum for medicinal purposes.

Makes 2 servings

I'm changing the name to Mango Mama in honor of my awesome Mom!

 

Guess what, Mom? This drink is super healthy too!

Mangoes are loaded with vitamin A which supports vision and bone growth, vitamin C which supports immune function and collagen formation, are a good source of dietary fiber, and contain 20 other vitamins and minerals.

Bananas are rich in potassium and low in sodium which promotes heart health and  may reduce high blood pressure and stroke, is an excellent source of vitamin B6, a good source of manganese, and helps the body absorb calcium.

Mint helps with digestion and symptoms of IBS, reduces pain from headaches, helps prevent infections by slowing the growth of bacteria,  and can relieve congestion and relax your mind simply by taking a few whiffs.

So go ahead and drink up Mom! Because I plan on keeping you around for a very, very long time.

Happy Mother’s Day!

I love you!

Per serving: Calories: 120; Fat: .5 grams; Fiber: 3.5 grams; Carbohydrate: 31 grams, 745 mg. potassium, 16% RDA for Vitamin A; 84 % RDA for Vitamin C.

One thought on “The Mother Load

  1. OMgosh, This looks so refreshing and deliscious! You can bet that I will try it! You know I love how you connect food to love and leisure.

Leave a Reply

