When I Dip You Dip We Dip

I’m about to blow your mind. 

First you are going to read this recipe.

Then you are going to think I’m a freak.

Then you are going to be so intrigued that you just have to try it.  

You will scour the pantry for the ingredients. You will make this dip.  And When you put that first spoonful into your mouth, the world will stop rotating on its axis,  the kids will magically stop crying, your spouse will stop doing whatever it is that inevitably irritates the bejeezus out of you, and your tastebuds will break out into song. You will probably hear a gospel choir singing praise in the background. 

Perhaps you think I’m being more dramatic than the cast of Glee, but I am that excited about this recipe. In fact, I’m not even going to waste any more words here. I’m just going to give you the goods. I accept thanks and gifts of gratitude in the form of monetary donations which can be deposited directly into a paypal account that I will be setting up as soon as I can stop licking my fingers.

                                                      COOKIE DOUGH DIP

                                       1 can chickpeas (shut up. you will love this.)

                                                          2 TBS. Peanut Butter

                                                             3-4 TBS. honey

                                                      1/4 c. milk (I used soy)

                  1/4 mini chocolate chips (Ok. I didn’t measure this. Just pour ’em in)

Combine first three ingredients in a blender.  Add enough milk until you get a doughy consistency (I only used about two tablespoons).  Transfer to a bowl and mix in chocolate chips. Serve with graham crackers, pita chips, pretzels, fruit or simply eat it with a spoon.

Trick your kids with this healthy recipe. Not because its healthy but because its fun to trick your kids!

Not only does this taste just like chocolate chip cookie dough, it is extremely healthy. You get plenty of  fiber, protein, potassium, and thiamin from the beans, an extra shot of protein from the peanut butter, and a  bit of all natural sweetness with a dash of micronutrients from the honey.  This is food fuel at its finest.  If you use PB2 in place of the peanut butter, you could make this a dessert and a meal all in one and not even worry about breaking your calorie budget (about 600 calories. Add 200 if using regular peanut butter).  Not only did this pass the husband test, it passed the co-worker test. God Bless my co-workers for indulging me when I bust into work at 8 AM and make them try all my experiments yet refuse to tell them the ingredients until they have tasted and critiqued the food item.  You people rock.

Chocolate rice cake and chocolate chip cookie dough dip. Madness!

Leave a Reply

