Get Baked

Looks good! Wish I could say the same after I pulled the peanut buttery bars out of the oven!

Remember that post where I said I like to experiment with food? Have I mentioned that scientfically speaking, most experiments fail? I’m sure there’s research out there somewhere to back that statement up. Personally, I can attest to many, many kitchen failures. This weekend was a monstrosity of baking experiments gone horribly, horribly wrong.  First there was the Peanut Buttery Bars. I jacked this simple recipe from a cool little blog called Carrots and Cake.  I decided to substitute PB2 for the peanut butter to make a lower fat treat. If you haven’t discovered PB2 yet, its this awesome powdered peanut butter that you mix with water to reconstitute. The ingredients are all natural peanuts that have had the oil removed. 

The description on the bottle reads "slow roasted peanuts that are pressed to remove fat and oil. An exquisitly natural roasted peanut butter flavor that's deliciously rich in taste, easy to enjoy and wonderfully healthy." I don't care how they describe it. This stuff is portion controlled deliciousness!

I love, love, love this stuff but apparently it couldn’t hold up in this recipe. I’m convinced it was the lack of oil that made this recipe dry as a dog bone but John thinks the lack of sweetener made it hard to swallow. Since it seemed more apt as a nutricious dog treat, I threw them back in the oven to make just that. I burned them.

The original recipe, if you are interested,  can be found here http://carrotsncake.com/2009/06/peanut-buttery-bars.html.   John wouldn’t let me waste any more ingredients on this one so I moved on to bigger and better things.

Next on the list was John’s request for a sweet cookie treat (cookie monster  later went on to say that a lot of my posts are baked goods that are brown.  Wonder why!). Anyhow,  he has been craving oatmeal raisin cookies and OF COURSE I had to find a healthy recipe. This was my first mistake. Well, really it was the only mistake because I made the recipe correctly, it just didn’t live up to our oatmeal raisin dreams. The taste was pretty darn awesome but the texture was pretty darn awful. They tasted healthy and nobody wants that. They want a healthy cookie that tastes like the real deal.  Sigh. I couldn’t bear to throw them away so I put them in storage containers and closed the kitchen for the night.

On Sunday I woke up to discover that my home-made crock pot yogurt didn’t set.  I basically made sour milk.  What the french, toast? Can I get anything right this weekend?  This is unacceptable.  I will make something edible by Sunday night if I spend all day doing it. I’m totally not a perfectionist. I swear.  I’m pretty sure that if you ever have ingredients that you don’t know what to do with, you can throw them all together and make a casserole.  I’m kind of a casserole connesieur considering I grew up on tater tot cassrole, tuna noodle casserole, and chicken and stuffing casserole.  Casseroles are sneaky because they hide under the guise of being homemade and therefore wholesome, but are usually caloric catastrophes. Perfect. That’s exactly what my low fat baking bombs need. I decided to make a sort of hybrid bread pudding/french toast casserole. Let’s call it Baked Oatmeal Raisin Muffin Bread Pudding Bars. Casserole. I crumbled the cookie rejects and leftover oatmeal rhubarb muffins into a 9 x 13 pan. In a bowl I combined 3 1/2 cups of soy milk, 1/4 brown sugar, 1/4 white sugar, 6 eggs, and 1 tsp. of vanilla. I whisked this together and poured it over the muffin mess. Then I let it take a little time out so the milk could infiltrate the crumbles. I popped the whole thing into 350 degree oven for about 40 minutes. It at least smelled good. The result was a very dense, bread pudding-esque breakfasty treat. Do you see how I have to make up words to even describe this kitchen nightmare? All in all, I would totally eat this with powdered sugar and warm syrup, but only if I didn’t have to fit into any of my jeans for the next three days.  John approved but he’ll try anything once. We’ll see if he’s telling the truth by him actually eating another one  in the next day or two. Stand by people.

Oatmeal Breakfast Casserole

 

There. Everything I post isn't brown.

Leave a Reply

