Taste the Rainbow

Is it pumpkin? Is it butternut squash? Bet you can't wait to find out!

One of my favorite food-isms is to “eat the rainbow.”  No, I don’t mean eat 3 bags of skittles (besides, it only counts as 1 1/2 if you eat just the green and yellow ones).  It’s also not some peace loving hippie reference. To eat the rainbow simply means to include a variety of colors of food in your diet. Did you know that each color provides a different set of nutrients? This handy dandy little chart can help explain it much better than I can.

[rainbow.gif]

After last week’s chocolate attack, which I satisfied with another Young’s Double Chocolate Stout on Saturday, my body was craving some serious fruit and vegetable love. I decided to make Spicy Carrot Dip served with cucucmbers, red peppers, and summer squash with some pretzels and pita bread thrown in to replenish all the glycogen I burned during the 5k (Ok, I just really wanted pretzels and pita bread).  I made this dip for Thanksgiving, but with all the other goodies around, this oompa loompa looking dip didn’t get the moment of glory that it truly deserved.  Also, I decided to add some cilantro this time around because I had some just waiting to get used up and I thought it would pair perfectly with the cumin and chili seasonings. I have to say, the cilantro really kicked up the freshness factor and this was an awesome afternoon snack. Plus, the recipe is super easy so I fully expect you’ll be making it for you next office function.

Spicy Carrot Dip

1 lb. carrots, sliced (the big ones have more flavor than baby carrots)

1/4 tsp. cumin

1/4 tsp. chili powder

1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

2 tsp. oil

2 tbs. orange juice

Handful fresh cilantro (times like these I wish I measured) Maybe 2-3 tbs. chopped?

Cook carrots and a little bit of water in microwave until soft. Combine all ingredients in a blender and puree. Chill. (You and the carrot dip can both chill at this point if you really want). Serve garnished with a few cilantro leaves.

I was sort of hoping that if I ate a lot of orange food, it would give my skin a nice healthy "glow" a'la Paris Hilton self tanner abuse.

Leave a Reply

