Chocolate attack!

    One of the kids at work calls me “Miss  Cookie.”  Not because I eat a particularly large amount of the yummy treats, but simply because something about my character reminds him of a cookie. Ok. I’ll take that over my childhood nickname which references a Disney created pachyderm that flies around with the aid of a feather in his trunk (yeah, I’m still kind of not over that).  Ya know, I really don’t eat a lot of cookies, but I do love anything with cocoa. I even loved the wall color my Mom had in our kitchen which was called Cocoa Parfait (which I also thought would be a great stripper name).  Anyhow, hearing myself being called a cookie all day long kind of sent me into a full blown craving for some chewy, chocolate goodness and a tall glass of chocolate soda. Did you read that right? CHOCOLATE SODA! I didn’t even know this stuff existed! I now have a supplier who keeps me fully stocked in case of chocolate soda emergencies.  That little thumbnail on your left that you’re drooling over is an ice cold diet chocolate soda poured over three scoops of vanilla ice cream. But we’re not done yet, kids. We  still need some cookies to go with that tasty beverage.  Good thing my “Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar” recipe book finally came in the mail. It took me two full days to decide which recipe to try first, but after careful consideration, I settled on the Swedish Chocolate Balls. Maybe its because I’m part Swedish, maybe its because it had loads of cocoa, or maybe I just wanted to make my husband eat chocolate balls, but I knew this was the cookie I had to make.  It tasted like a cross between a no-bake cookie and an oatmeal cream pie. In other words, it rocked.

Swedish Chocolate Balls                                                                       

Recipe courtesy of this awesome book! Look! No weird vegan ingredients!

              

3 1/4 c. quick cooking oats

pinch of salt

1 C. plus 2 TBS. powdered sugar

1/2 natural or dutch process cocoa powder

1/2 non-hydrogenated margerine, softened

1/2 chocoloate soymilk, milk, or chilled brewed coffee

1 1/4 tsp. pure vanilla extract                                                                                                                              

Thank you, Sweden, for your delicious chocolate balls.

For the coating:

1 1/2 c. flaked cocpnut, finely chopped nuts, or cookie crumbs.

1. In large bowl, combine oats and salt, then sift in powdered sugar and cocoa powder.  Cut in the margerine to form a crumbly mixture. Pour in the milk and vanilla, stirring to make a thick sticky dough.

2. Spread the coconut (or other coating) on a large plate. Spoon about a tablespoon into dough into coating, covering completely. Form into a ball. Store in refrigerator until ready to serve.

Chocolate soda float and Swedish Chocolate Balls. Maybe I really will go by the nickname Cocoa Parfait. But I refuse to wear pasties on the grounds that it would probably give my step-dad a coronary.

You’d be mistaken if you think this cured my chocolate craving. Stay tuned for more chocolate posts and my tribute to St. Patrick’s Day!

5 thoughts on “Chocolate attack!

Leave a Reply

