Getting a little race(y)

Got my game face on!

On Friday, March 11, I made a  decision. I was going to run my very first 5K.

 On Saturday. 

It was actually my New Year’s resolution to run a 5k but I kept psyching myself out. The more I thought about it, the more and more anxious I became and the more pressure I felt to perform.  I was forgetting that it wasn’t my goal to  “perform” but to try something new and have fun doing it, damnit.  I have been taking myself WAY too seriously lately. It was high time I let go and do something spontanaious that would help me feel good about myself. In preparation for the big event, I drug the husband to Best Buy to purchase an MP3 player to help alleviate my pre-race jitters and stop myself from thinking to much during the big run. All settled in front of the computer, I spent hours selecting the perfect mix of music to get me pumped at the start, keep me motivated in the second mile, and to give me energy to push through the final stretch.  The mix started with Florence and the Machine’s “Dog Days” and ended with Eye of the Tiger (don’t judge me).  I arranged each song in perfect order to accompany through my journey and the whole thing would have been truly inspiring had the MP3 player actually turned on when I hit the power buttton. Are you kidding me?? My first race and I have to run it inside my own head?  I thought about bailing right then and there but I knew if I didn’t run Saturday, I never would build up enough guts to do it again.  So I carbo loaded on my fave cereal and a spoonful of peanut butter and hit the hay for a good night’s sleep.  I woke up ready to run (after I showered, did my hair, and put on make up, of course.) 

Pre-race snack. A little fruit for quick energy and hydration!

                     
        

I'm cold. Can we start so I can warm up a little?

Let's do this!

   

The Final Stretch-I'm behind the girl in the cool sunglasses.

Crossing the finish line

 

Second place for my age group. Not bad!

 

Obligatory group photo

 

Proud

The race was tougher than I expected-both physically and emotionally. At one point I thought the .001 incline I had to run for three seconds was going to do me in but luckily there was a slight decline right after that. Whew! I also had to walk for about 30 seconds in the last 1/2 mile because my legs were starting to feel like  jello jigglers.  All in all, it was a beautiful day to run and I far exceeded my goal to finish in 30 minutes.  And for once, I actually let myself feel really, really proud. I did it!
*MUSHY MOMENT ALERT* Big shout out to my husband for being so supportive and waking up early to come and cheer me on. I couldn’t have done it without you!
5 thoughts on “Getting a little race(y)

Leave a Reply

