Give it up for (Lent)ils!

One of my favorite soups looks like something that you would find in a lactose intolerant infant’s diaper.  I apologize for the visual, but it’s true. Split Pea soup looks like something that has already been digested instead of something that should be ingested. Good thing I have the gift of compartmentalizing and can eat this soup with no qualms.  Amy’s brand organic split pea soup is my favorite, but it requires a special trip to a store 20 miles away.  Assuming you don’t live under a rock, you are probably aware of the insanely high gas prices right now. As an aside, it should not cost an entire day’s pay to cover fuel expenses for the week. That’s just asinine. But I digress. My point is that it doesn’t make a lot of financial sense to drive 20 miles for a $2.00 can of soup. Naturally, I decided to make my own but I opted to use lentils instead of split peas. Put all your bean prejudices aside and bear with me here. Lentils get a bad rap but they’re actually super easy to cook, tasty, and C-H-E-A-P.  It cost me about $1.29 for fourteen protein loaded servings. On that criteria alone, I could probably work lentils into my every day diet.  I didn’t get too fancy with my soup. I sauteed some onion, added some homemade vegetable stock (seriously, I will do anything to save a dollar), and then added the lentils.  I normally use whatever spices sound good at the moment and I think I added black pepper, cayanne pepper, and paprika to this batch.  I topped the whole thing off with a dollop of crock pot yogurt (see earlier post).  Forget all your misconceptions about lentils. This soup is comforting, creamy, and perfect for rainy Sunday evenings. 

Lentil Soup. Looks, um, interesting. Tastes amazing!

 

Speaking of lentils (I KNOW you’re not sick of hearing about them yet!),  they have the amazing ability to trasnform

Sprout it out!

  themselves into delicious little salad sprouts.  WHAT?!?!?!? YES, you can make salad sprouts from a bag of plain, old lentils. Did I mention they cost $1.29?  If you have kids, tell them this is a super special science experiment where they get to grow alien brains in a jar. Seriously, kids believe crap like that. Anyway, take about 1/4 c. dried lentils and soak them in a mason jar for about 4 hours. Cover mason jar with mesh wiring or cheesecloth secured with a rubber band. Drain water and give the lentils one final rinse. Invert in a bowl to let excess water drip out. Rinse twice a day for 3-5 days and you will have lentil sprouts! We added them to soup, salad, asian wraps, and even smoothies. I promise you can’t taste them in a smoothie. Sprouts are one of the most nutricious foods you can eat and they also last in the fridge for about a month making them extremely cost efficient. Just in case you want more information about sprouting or to prove that I’m not the only person who does it, check out this website http://sproutpeople.org/.

Alien Brains, ahem, I mean, lentil sprouts

One thought on “Give it up for (Lent)ils!

  1. You know I will do this. The alien brain idea is perfect. My students will be arguing (ahem, I mean hypothesizing) about who will have the bigger brain. This will give new meaning to my classroom motto, “I’m going to eat your brains.”

Leave a Reply

