Going Nuts

Banana Almond Ice Cream

I had good intentions. Really, I did. But sometimes the plan in my head doesn’t translate into reality.  I successfully made peanut butter so I figured almond butter would be a piece of cake. Hubby requested I use less oil this time so I thought I would go au naturale.  After blanching the almonds and removing the shells, I dumped them into the blender and began pulsating the heck out of them.  Then whipping, then grinding, then chopping, then liquifing. Basically, I went through all seven settings of my blender only to produce ground almonds. Well, that didn’t work.  What does one do when a recipe doesn’t work out? Keep adding  ingredients until some edible food item reveals itself. So I added soy milk and frozen bananas and blended it until it was creamy and smooth.  It would have made a tasty milk shake but I wasn’t satisfied with just blended fruit, almonds and milk. I wanted ice cream.  I let my mixture go on a little vacation to the artic and after a couple of hours, I had banana almond ice cream!

Sometimes I feel like a nut

 

This little almond treat needed a crunchy companion and I was feeling a little nostalgic for a recipe my mom used to make using graham crackers, peanut butter, powdered sugar and milk.  This recipe is perfect for packed lunches, road

I didn't even make him buy the low fat graham crackers! He picked those out all by himself. The one graham of fat he saved made it acceptable to proceed to eat two doughnuts.

 trips, and getting crumbs all over the bed.  In a bowl, combine peanut butter, powdered sugar and a tiny bit of milk until a paste forms. Sandwhich about a tablespoon of mixture between two graham cracker halves.  The secret to this recipe is waiting. You have to WAIT a few hours to let the graham crackers get all soft and chewy. Ta da! Instant regression to grade school lunchroom. 

Peanut Butter Bliss

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
6 thoughts on “Going Nuts

  1. shana, the almond thing is out my league unless I can find it at Gordon Foods,but I do remember the peanut butter and too much powdered sugar and a touch of milk and graham crackers.You are right they do need to sit and get soft and chewy that is key.The ice cream does look yummy !

  2. I actually got a new cookbook full of cookie recipes that would be perfect for mailing! If you keep reading the blog, I’ll be happy to make your family my guinea pigs!

Leave a Reply

